Good eats

The girls were having lunch, and I sat down with my own little diet-friendly snack.

 “Can I have some of that?”

It’s a questions she asks often. And often the answer is no.

Every day Hope petitions God for two things. She asks Him to ‘help Rhema talk soon,’ And she requests that her food allergies be taken away.

“Sometimes I want so badly not to be allergic. So badly, Mommy. I want to taste it all! I won’t – don’t worry. But I really, really don’t want to be allergic anymore.”

I’d never heard her express the desire so strongly before. So young and she already knows what it is to want something so badly and not be able to grasp it.

“I’ll keep praying.” She held her hands out, bounced them up and down with each syllable. “And waiting.”

Praying and waiting. Yes.

“Do you want more soup?” I asked.

“Nope,” she said bouncing from the table. “I’m full.”

Honestly, I learn so much from Hope about pure, sincere, abiding faith. Despite a “limited” diet – she’s allergic to nuts, eggs, wheat, dairy, and soy – she’s always been full.

She made me think of a better, richer sustenance. A banqueting table where the cup’s never empty. The plate is always full — with the only food that truly satisfies. The bread is safe to consume, it deeply nourishes, always gives life.

The Word, God’s feast.

Even while we pray and wait, while we re-group, pick ourselves off the floor, or grieve, or miss, or just manage to do the next thing, we can dine on the best delicacies, we can eat and be filled.

Some soul food I’m chewing, savoring, digesting today:

“My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.” Psalm 63:5

“If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” James 1:5

“…for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deut. 31:6

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and He delights in His way. Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down; for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” Psalm 37:23-24

I’m so glad Hope reminded me of the only One who will not leave me wanting.

I’ve been so hungry.

9 thoughts on “Good eats

  1. so true. It breaks my heart when Grace tells me about some food “Hopie can’t have that because she’s allergic”. She gets very serious and stern with me just in case I would ever think of giving that to her friend.

  2. I had no idea about this with Hope. Must make it ‘fun’ when it comes to food at home. You’ve got so much going on, and yet you never let go. God bless you for your faith and reward you well for it. xx

  3. I listed out all my food allergies for a new friend once. Her response? “Wow. Heaven is going to be such a wonderful feast for you!” Hope and I, we will taste it all! =) And NOT get sick or rush to a hospital. This world is not our home. High five to Hope from Africa from another food allergic friend!

Leave a Reply

