Psalm 136

My dear friend Cha has been writing her own Psalm 136. It’s a way of making her thankfulness a bridge to faith.

Psalm 136 is a story of mercy and deliverance set to song, with verses of praise and gratitude. The chorus repeats over and over, lest we forget: For His love endures forever. The Message (Bible) simply says, His love never quits.

Inspired by Cha, I’ve been recording my own Psalm 136 song of deliverance and God’s medley of mercies in my life.  I’ve been asking family and friends what their own verses might say.

Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!
His love never quits.

To Him who alone does great wonders,
His love never quits.

To the God who has everything
His love never quits.

And still wants me.
He love never quits.

Who drew me to His mercy-seat,
And said, “Thy sins which are many are all forgiven thee: be of good cheer.”
His love never quits.

Who made me a wife. To teach me about His faithfulness.
His love never quits.

Who made me a mother. To teach me about Himself.
His love never quits.

Who filled my broken heart with songs.
His love never quits.

Who hangs the sun and stars and paints the sky and walks with me.
His love never quits.

Who created life and within me the miracles of new life. I am still in awe.
His love never quits.
~C.N.

Who rescued me out of depression
His love never quits.
And gave me hope for the future.
His love never quits.

~C.G.

When my father left and my mother died, I was only a boy
His love never quits.

The Lord has been my Caretaker
His love never quits.
~G.P.

Who has given me 36 crazy years with the same best friend every single day
His love never quits.
~My twin

Who faithfully protects and provides
His love never quits.
~M.R.

Who gives new life to families
His love never quits.
~B.R.

Who heals my allergies. Jesus loves me.
His love never quits.
~Hope

When I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
His love never quits.

He is always with me.
His love never quits.
~B.P.

What would your Psalm 136 say?

.

Ed note: The book One Thousand Gifts inspired Cha to record her blessings like the psalm.

7 thoughts on “Psalm 136

  1. When I run from him
    When I refuse his blessings
    When I deny his promises
    ignore his promptings
    though I am prone to wander
    His love never quits.

  2. He calms my anxious heart and leads me to peace.
    His love never quits.
    He promises a future and a hope that is for me alone
    His love never quits.

  3. Who makes strangers and enemies into brothers.
    His love never quits.
    Who can keep this scaredy-cat loving life in a war-zone.
    His love never quits.

  4. He brought me through deep places of defeat and in a season of ruin He regarded me as precious.
    His love never quits.
    He drew up my sunken hope as treasure and eroding faith as fortune.
    His love never quits.

Leave a Reply

