It’s good

Rhema’s neurologist (finally!) called me about her EEG results.

He tells me that her brain is experiencing seizure-like activity 31% of the time.

Wow. Wow. Ok…

Still hard to hear, hard to believe.

Then I let out a big whoop.

And I think Dr. C is a bit taken aback.

“That’s good!”

Two years ago she was in continuous seizure mode with her brain spiking 58 times a minute. They could not get a normal reading on her for more than 2 seconds. Boggles the mind! And that was when she was on high doses of anti-epileptic drugs.

Now he tells me her spike index is down to 31%. And she’s not even on any of those yucky meds.

I call that a healing-amazing-Hallelujah-Thank you Jesus- miracle!

Dr. C assures me that her EEG is still ‘quite abnormal.’ He tells me about a drug that was only available in Europe before that has now been approved by the FDA. He’s seen favorable results in some of his other patients. He wants us to consider it for Rhema.

“O.k., Dr. C. We’ll research it and pray about it. Thank you.”

We hang up and I feel a weight lift off my shoulders. These results mean we don’t have to put her in the hospital for long term monitoring. We don’t have to do another EEG right away. We’re not in a situation where we absolutely need to put her on anti-convulsants. In fact it seems she’s improving without them. Imagine that. (!)

Thank you so much for praying and asking about Rhema’s results.

It’s good. Good news!

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
who satisfies your desires with good things…

~Psalm 103:2-5

26 thoughts on “It’s good

  1. Heal me, Oh Lord, and I will be healed, save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise. – Jeremiah 17:14

    Thanking God for the wonderful news! I will continue to pray for healing for Rhema and guidance for you and Brandon.

  2. Hands in the air and twirling around the the room…..I don’t think the number 31 lhas ever ooked more beautiful. We will continue our prayers for your sweet Rhema and your family…and just in case you are wondering I just twirled again and threw in a little leap!

  3. Don’t know how I missed THIS one!! HALLELUJAH!! That is some seriously awesome news! Praying that she is one of the many, many children who simply outgrow seizures as they get older.

Leave a Reply

