On to you

.

We were taking a drive. Jamming to an old Vacation Bible School CD.

“Today is the day You have made

I will rejoice and be glad in it

Oh. Oh. O-oh. Oh. Oh. O-oh.”

From the back we heard this sweet little voice sing, “Oh. Oh. O-oh.” Perfect in time. Perfect in tune.

For a moment, I froze. I grabbed Brandon’s arm. He was driving and his eyes were as wide as mine.

Then I freaked out. ”OHMYGOSH, RHEMA!!! That was awesome! Your singing is beautiful! WOW!!!”

It was the first time in 8 years I’d ever heard her sing along to a song.

I turned around and she averted her gaze, a startled look on her face.

I realized maybe I’d shown a tad too much exuberance. (But can you blame me?)

The song played a couple more times on our drive but she did not sing again.

That’s ok, Rhema girl.

I know. We know you’re here, quietly taking it all in. And there’s no limit to you, what you can do and learn. There’s so much inside you. So much that the world doesn’t see. You’re a deep ocean filled with new discoveries and colors and treasures under the surface. And I pray everyday that we’ll find a way to help you let it out. That you will have courage to show us all that is in your beautiful mind and heart. In the meantime, just so you know my dear. Oh. Oh. O-oh. The Lord has made you; you’re brilliant. And we’re on to you.

9 thoughts on “On to you

Leave a Reply

