“Frozen sugar”

Well. If you open the door and there’s snow on the ground, Rhema will rush out and start feasting like she hasn’t had a meal in years.

IMG_0427

So when my friend A sent me a recipe for Snow Ice Cream we were really excited. We bundled up and braved the blizzard in search of the fluffiest, 2 1/2 quarts of non-yellow snow we could find.

IMG_0407

“Here ya go, Mom!”

IMG_0421

Rhema started snacking early… just in case we ran out.

IMG_0412

*

Back at the ranch, we quickly mixed into our snow 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of ricemilk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla…

IMG_0433

before Rhema could eat it all.

IMG_0438

Finally!

IMG_0447

Yum!

14 thoughts on ““Frozen sugar”

  1. I love snow cream! Reminds me of my grandma. She used to make it for us whenever we were lucky enough to get any snow. I was able to make it for my kids this year at Christmas when we were in Massachusetts.

    It really is delicious!

  2. I have never heard of this! I would have loved this as a kid (the fact that I grew up in California, aside)! This reminds me of the Little House on the Prairie books when they talked about freezing the maple syrup in the snow to make popsicles. I used to dream about that for days on end. :)

  3. So fun. The picture of your Rhema is just like my Sawyer. We didn’t get nearly that much, but any time we get snow, he wants to run outside and eat as much of it as he can. I have so many pictures of him doing the same thing, eating snow off of his gloves and with it covering his little face. So glad you guys enjoyed your snow day!

Leave a Reply

