God sitting on your plate

plate

Rhema is having a couple medical procedures this week. She is still vomiting. Even after I chopped off all her hair and even after her gastroenterologist put her on reflux medication. So she is scheduled for a fluoroscopy on Tuesday and an endoscopy on Thursday. The fluoroscopy involves Rhema fasting for a period of time and then drinking a contrast material and then getting her GI tract x-rayed.

Y’all know my girl, right? I can’t begin to imagine how all that’s gonna go, but one thing’s for sure it will be… hhhmm… interesting.

The endoscopy is considered day surgery and Rhema will be put under general anesthesia. The doctor will take biopsies of her esophagus, stomach and intestines. As soon as we heard she would be put under, Brandon and I got on our phones and starting calling up all of her doctors – neurologist, pediatrician, dentist, endocrinologist:

“Hey, doc. If there is anything you ever wanted to do to Rhema, well now’s your chance! She’s getting put under next week!”

Yeah, that sounds kind of bad. But seriously.

One doc was like, “Oh! Get this and that blood test and maybe an MRI and…”

Rhema also has to have an EEG soon and I called three times begging someone to agree to put the leads on while she is out, but alas, the sedation will affect the EEG results. So we’ll have to wait to do the EEG until she’s her usual Incredible Hulk self.

And the dentist is going to get his shot to look in her mouth and do a cleaning but not until next month – when she will be put under anesthesia again.

Hope was dancing to a song that had these words:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. ~Psalm 73:26

She asked, “What does it mean? ‘My portion forever.’”

“You know how you get your own plate of food at dinner, your portion? That verse says that God is your portion. And how big is God? Sitting on your plate.”

She giggled, stretched her hands as wide as she could, looked up to the sky and spun around. But she knew she could not begin to express his big-ness.

But my portion containeth him whom the heavens, and heaven of heavens, can never contain. ~George Swinnock

“He is all for you. And not just for a day. Or a year. Or a hundred years. But forever. He will never run out.”

It’s going to be a stressful week – even though these are “small” procedures it does something to a mama’s heart to see her baby unconscious and being rolled into an OR. I’m pretty sure my heart and flesh will fail. (It doesn’t take much). But I’m so thankful to know God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

15 thoughts on “God sitting on your plate

  1. Oh my gosh… God be with you and with her through it all. I hope you get concise results with minimal interference. You must be ‘spewing’ about cutting her hair now! :( (Pardon the pun – it’s an Aussie expression :S)

  2. I am lifting Rhema and all of you up in prayer, may you be covered in His peace. I just finished this week’s CBS…His peace passes all understanding, and you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you! Praying that Rhema’s tummy troubles are easily diagnosed, and easy to fix non-invasively.

  3. Praying for Rhema. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. And yes! Whenever my son is under, I also call his other doctors. I thought it was just us!

  4. A supersize portion…
    More prayers from here. And yes, we too contact all the docs when Joy gets put under for anything. Tishia, I’m starting to believe that just about anything any of us think is “just us” is really multitudes.

  5. I’m so sorry that I have been away, but I pray that everything went ok, not only with the procedures, but also with the outcome/results. I am praying for a HUGE GOD HUG for you — in the form of some good restful, sleep; a wonderful meal that someone prepares for you; some unexpected good news; and something that makes you laugh until you cry — I know you absolutely serve all of that and more. XO

Leave a Reply

