A Story by Rhema

Dear child,

Tell me a story of you.

Let the first verse be about who you are. What you think about you, and how it feels inside. What your deep eyes see when they gaze at the snow, the sun, the ocean, marker colors on paper. What you hear when you play the music over and over and over. How you feel when Hope’s love and laughter surrounds you. How you feel when my cheek touches yours? What do you love, my love?

May your chorus be only the things that make that you giggle silly. The ones that bring out your secret smile (oh, you light up my life!). The thoughts that make you rock and raise your fingertips as if you might fly. Oh, tell me what it is that makes your heart beat and your eyes dance.

(I want to know, sweet child, so I can catch it and make it stay forever.)

In the second part, my darling, share with me The Hardest. Share with me.

Feel free to ad lib! Tell me everything I’ve never known. Favorite color? Favorite tune? Favorite activity in school? Your dreams. Things you can do but I’ve assumed you cannot? Why you color in circles. Why you hide your face. Why you only eat the dark brown multi-grain Cheerios.

May your chorus be only the things that make that you giggle silly. The ones that bring out your secret smile (oh, you light up my life!). The thoughts that make you rock and raise your fingertips as if you might fly. Oh, tell me what it is that makes your heart beat and your eyes dance.

Sweet child, tell me a story of you.

Listening with all my heart,

Mommy

(To hear the story you will need to listen closely).

“I want to trip inside your head, spend the day there…
to hear the things you haven’t said
and see what you might see…
the songs are in your eyes.” ~U2

13 thoughts on “A Story by Rhema

  1. And then I saw that I could play the video, and oh, that voice! You know she’s singing with/to angels, right? Simply gorgeous. I could listen for a very long time.

  2. Loved her song and I echo your wish….my little guy sings to me every day and I try desparately to listen and understand…with my ears and with my heart. Thanks for sharing and know that you are not alone in your desire to undertand and to know more than they can tell us :)

  3. So lovely… she is like my Sophie, your Rhema. Her bus driver always tells me she was singing on the way home :)

  4. What a delicate, breeze of a voice she has! Would she do choir? Imagine how she can touch people with her singing voice…

  5. oh my goodness… her voice is so beautiful. i want to save this song out as audio and play it for worship. i listen to this pandora station called christian instrumental sometimes when i pray. i would add rhema right in with her gorgeous voice instrument. love!

Leave a Reply

