Future Tense

The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Deut 31:8 (NIV)

In the past few weeks I’ve come across a number of stories involving harm or death to children with autism that have naturally left me apprehensive about the future. Some of these stories include a 12-yr. old girl who suffered abuse at the hands of her van driver – right here in our neck of the woods, another story of the Florida kindergartner with Aspergers who was voted out of his class last week after classmates listed the reasons they disliked him. Sadder still are the tragic accidents that occur oftentimes when our kids wander away, oblivious to the danger around them. Nowadays these stories are all too common. Pray for these grieving families. See Ashley Brock and Ryan Watson

We can never be certain of what the future holds. This fact never bothered me that much until God gave me children! But the one comfort I have and want to share with you is expressed in the verse above, and that is, no matter what life may bring, the LORD will not fail. He will walk with us and accompany us on the journey. And His promise is that He will never leave us nor forsake us. It’s a simple truth, but one that can be hard to hold on to when you’re consumed with worry and fear about the future.

A few weeks ago after we had been in the hospital with Rhema, the uncertainty of her future (in regard to her health and development) was weighing on me heavy, but what a peace I felt when I finally released it all to God. My mother said: “Faith does not always provide answers, but it is a hand in the darkness keeping alive that trust that despite all appearances, God is still on our side.” She sent me the following quote:

In his Christmas Eve Broadcast in 1939, King George VI quoted these words: “And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year: Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown. And he replied; Go into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

So let the road ahead become unclear, the God of the Universe is with you.

5 thoughts on “Future Tense

  1. I enjoyed reading your “Thirstin’ For The Word Thursday” post. I especially enjoyed your quote. Thanks for reminding me that even though something may be unknown to me…God knows.

  2. This reminds me of the Natalie Grant song “Held”. That the promise is that when everything fails, we’ll be held. Thanks for sharing!

    Sandra

  3. Wow! This was a touching and great post. Since I have had children and some major medical problems I tend to be an anxious monster! I love the verses in the Bible about God going before us and giving us strength. I cling to these often. Thanks for sharing with us.

  4. Pingback: Pages tagged "tense"

Leave a Reply

