Run For Cover

He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust… Psalms 91:4

I love the metaphor of God covering us with his wings. The image is one of comfort, safety, protection and rest. When the busyness of the day or the weight of the world begins to overwhelm, I imagine myself as Chicken Little running into the shadow of His wings. But seldom do I really, I mean really, go there. Too busy, I must run off and make lunch, and clean messes, and fold laundry, and work out, and find the cure for autism. “… How often have I longed to gather your children together, as a bird gathers her nestlings under her wings–and you refused.” Matt 23:37 (NIV)

Have you ever been aware of an underlying sadness or discontent in your hectic pace? I have. And I suspect it comes from ignoring the refuge that the Lord has provided, and that is, Himself. The psalmist implies that there is rejoicing in the shadow of His wings, and an acknowledgement of God’s constant help (Ps. 63:7). Worries shelved, fears and sorrows traded in for a time of sweet rest and joy in the Lord our strength. Ahhhh!  Don’t worry about the how’s and why’s and where’s, just run, Chicken Little, run to Him.

Visit Celly from Busy At Home for more Thirstin’ For The Word Thursdays.
 

6 thoughts on “Run For Cover

  1. What a comforting post! I love that image, too, and your reminder that too often we ignore our Refuge.
    Thanks for participating in Thirstin’ for the Word; I was blessed!

  2. It’s so neat to think that God takes us into His arms and comforts us just as we do our own children. And being that we’re supposed to be evil and do so with so much love; how much more meaningful and heartfelt are His embraces when we allow Him to. Thanks for the thought provoking post.

    Blessings,
    Sandra

  3. Oh, I love that! Thank you so much for giving me the link. God’s confirmations are incredibly sweet, aren’t they? 🙂 I imagine the Lord looking down on all of His “Chicken Littles”, longing to gather us under His mighty wing! Instead, many of us are running around like the proverbial chicken with its head cut off!

    Your writing is truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

