Comfort Object

When Rhema was younger, she had a little stuffed dog that served as her security blanket. She would cling to it, hug it, coo to it, and alternately flap and chew on its ears.

Like all comfort objects, it served the purpose of being that familiar thing she could hold onto in the midst of change and uncertainty; it provided a sense of security and safety. Rhema loved that doggie to pieces, literally.

As time drew near for us to return to the States, the doggie thing grew increasingly threadbare. I tried mending it several times, but also began to search for a replacement; I wanted Rhema to have her doggie for the upcoming move but I didn’t know if the stinky old thing would last. A mega search ensued with me fruitlessly driving an hour back to the store in Germany where I had originally found it, chiding myself for not buying two of them way back when. I searched the Internet for a doggie just like Rhema’s, the lettering on the tag had worn out. (I knew that if I found a new one, Rhema might not accept it, but my plan was to rough up the new one a bit – take a bat to it, spill some juice on it, repeatedly throw it against the wall, drool on it, Mike Tyson it). I never found another doggie for Rhema, so the old one came with us when we traveled home.

Autumn always reminds me of patterns of change. The children are getting older, we’re preparing for another winter. Even as much as Rhema craves sameness and adheres to routines, she is growing into a tall child whose interests are quickly shifting. Many of the things that finally seemed to work for her at school and home do so no longer, and I feel myself scrambling to find new ways to motivate her, new ways to teach and reach her.

My comfort object in the midst of change is

My love-worn Bible

My love-worn Bible

This Bible has been with me since my college days. There have been times in my life where I so desperately needed the Word of Life that I would sleep with it on my pillow. I find that when I search the pages I can literally feel the warmth of a security blanket wrapped round my soul.  Like Rhema’s doggie, I have tried repairing my Bible, but it always ends up mending me.

The basic meaning of the Biblical word comfort is a “calling to one’s side.” The idea for me is that the God of all comfort, the God of the Universe, is One that I can call to my side! Boggles the mind! But He has proven faithful to be with me; His presence a comfort in times of change and uncertainty, in times of fear, in times of sorrow.

Like Rhema’s doggie, there is simply no replacement. I find that I must treasure it, hang onto it by a thread…

 

hug it to my heart and never let it go.

Current verses of comfort:

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. Lam. 3:21-24

I will turn their mourning into gladness;
I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow. Jer 31:13

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. Jer 29:11-14

For he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.
So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear…
Heb 13:5-6

6 thoughts on “Comfort Object

  1. Yes, I love that Bible for you. I protect it often…when you leave it somewhere that I know you won’t remember I put it somewhere you will, when you leave it where Rhema or Hope (or Ronald in previous times) would get to it and rip it to pieces I put it up, when you have left it in hotel rooms I have put it in my backpack on my way out. I can’t imagine you losing your Word…both literally and figuratively. You have been our family’s constant advocate before the Lord for Rhema. Thank you for being a woman of the Word for our family.

  2. Oh, what a beautiful analogy! And what a beautiful Biblical meaning of the word “comfort”; I did not know that, and what a precious definition it is! Gives the word a whole new image for me. I love it!

    “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, Who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.” (2 Corinthians 1:3-7)

    PS-LOVE that photo of your well-loved Bible. Mine is in tatters … and it’s my “comfort”, too! 🙂

  3. I love that you have a “blankie” too. I have a “God rock” that I got at camp back when I was a kid. Having a piece of this planet that is thousands, perhaps millions of years old, keeps me humble about my place in our infinite Universe. And it makes me grateful to have a place in it at all.

  4. Beautiful musing on “comfort”! That gives a whole new angle on the “Comfort ye my people” from Isaiah 40 — God’s self walking beside us in human form…

    On a more mundane level, I just bought Joy a back-up of her favorite comfort-Webkin so that they don’t go off the market before she totally loves the whiskers off the current model!

  5. My Josiah has a love object, too. It’s a blue duck that has been drooled on, spilled on, grabbed, dragged, hugged and loved to pieces. It has, or rather had, a tag on it that Josiah stroked between his fingers until there’s nothing left but little shards of threads. But, he still mananges to find them and stroke away. Duck just got his fifth bath in the wash machine, and he’s still holding on. We never could find that same duck to have as a back up again.

    Your scriptures and love of your Bible were beautiful. So many Bibles sit on the shelf, dusty and unmarked. Yours looks like you have used it as a sword in many battles, a staff on many journeys, and a pillow of comfort during many nights.

Leave a Reply

