Perfect

“It feels like today I know
It feels like today I’m sure
It’s the one thing that’s missin’
The one thing I’m wishin’
Life’s sacred blessin’ and then
It feels like today
Feels like today”
-Rascal Flatts

About six weeks ago, a few autism mamas and I started a Bible study.  It has been such a blessing in my life.  Recently, in an effort to know how to better pray for one another, we began sharing a “High” and  a “Low” from the week. 

I’m so psyched about my “High” that I wanted to post it here, too.

Rhema’s daily communication log from school always details (among other things) her behavior for the day.  Categories under the behavior profile include Tantrum, Self-Injury, Aggression and Non-Compliance.  Thankfully, Rhema’s not all that into self-injury.  Oh, she’s dabbled.  But that heart-rending phase was short-lived.  Thank you, Lord. 

As for Tantrum, Aggression and Non-Compliance?  Let’s just say she’s a repeat offender. 

Since the beginning of time (well, not that long), I have been hoping for a “Perfect Behavior Day” – one in which she did not engage in any challenging behaviors.  The school staff has been rooting along with me. 

Everyday, as soon as she gets home, I eagerly open her backpack to see if today might be the day.  Usually, the daily log reports a very imperfect day. 

Initially it was hard for me to realize that my kid was not the star student of her special needs school… I mean, I ALWAYS got an “A” in conduct when I was in school! 

But now I wonder if someone – like God – were writing up my behavior profile every day if I would ever have a “perfect” day… Nope. Never. Some tantrums here and there.  A little “aggression” towards the husband and the laundry. Some self-injury in the form of over-consumption of refined sugars (be quiet, Brandon!) and guilt… and pride… and fear… (Lord, help me to better.)  Tons of non-compliance

(Considering these imperfections, the great apostle Paul is a great comfort: “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.” Phil. 3:12-13)

Anyway, I was beginning to think the perfect day for Rhema would never come. 

But last week I was shocked to see this:

Almost!

Almost!

And then this week, it happened! 
For the first time in the history of the school, she had a Perfect Behavior Day!
Perfect Behavior Day!

Perfect Behavior Day!

 

Friends, this one’s going on the refrigerator, in the scrapbooks, on the mantle, in the Christmas cards…

 

And now for the icing on the cake. 

Drumroll. 

IT HAPPENED TWO DAYS IN A ROW!

 

Oh, how I love a perfect day. 8)

20 thoughts on “Perfect

  1. hahaah GO Rhema!!!

    I am with you on the refined sugar consumption and ummm aggression. I’m from Jersey that’s my excuse and I am sticking to it!!!!

  2. That’s wonderful! Great job, Rhema!

    Did you make those charts up yourself or is it something they use for everyone in the class? I’d love to put something like that for Kayla. The staff doesn’t always have time to write something in the communication book, but surely they could take a few seconds to check off some boxes at the end of the day.

  3. the rascals sure know what they’re talking about, don’t they? love it!

    go, rhema! it seems like she is leaping and bounding these days… amazing! thank you for sharing the highs AND the lows.

  4. Yeah! Congratulations and great job, Rhema! Bring it on. Lately I’ve been praying, “Surprise me, God!” Try praying that everyday and stand back to see if he will keep delivering little things like this to boost your day.

  5. Wish I could come to the Bible Study! How wonderful to have that support!

    Go Rhema! That is so great! I feel like I know her from reading your posts and felt a sense of pride rising in my chest as I read of her accomplishments! May it continue!

  6. Congratulations Rhema! What wonderful news! And the Bible study sounds awesome. That’s one thing I’m missing locally – a “meat-space” autism support group.

  7. Stonefox told me about your site and I am so, so glad! I want to leave more comments when I have more time, but I’ve got a child’s birthday to plan (today); you are a blessing, let me just tell you!

    I think I might laminate this report and use it for placements ; )

  8. WOW!!!! Praise God a hundred million times! That’s huge! God is working and moving and continually working out His “perfect” will in all of our lives. Congrats to you Neily and to Rhema. I can’t wait so see that wonderful report every where I turn 🙂

    And as always, thank you for seeing what God sees. I would probably be disgusted at my behavior report. Praise God for His grace, mercy, and guidance.

    Love ya Neily. Hope to see you soon!

  9. Ecki,
    Just to answer your question-
    The communication book at Rhema’s school is great b/c it has daily charts as well as a section for written comments. Rhema’s is customized for her.
    Some of the checkboxes and categories include:
    -Seizures (Yes/ No)
    -What she ate for lunch and how much she ate.
    -Toileting Status (Urine/BM, R is toilet-trained now so they also note how many times she successfully voided).
    -Well body check
    -Behavioral Profile
    I always have to fill out a sheet every morning detailing the previous evening at home and the morning before school. Includes check boxes for:
    -Behavior (previous evening and morning)
    -If she ate dinner
    -If she had home therapy
    -If/how well she slept
    -If she ate breakfast
    -Any medical concerns

    Phew. If you want I can send you a template!

  10. WOO hoo is right. I remember vividly Reid’s first “all star” day at his current school. It is a milestone worth storing in everyone’s memory bank and precedent to be repeated! Gotta love the high point/low point. What study are you doing?

  11. That is AWESOME!!! I’m over here doing a little “happy dance” for you and Rhema! 🙂 And two days in a row? WOW That’s one for the fridge AND another to frame on the mantle ;).

  12. Yea! Hooray! Hallelujah!

    That is truly a “High”, and I’m so happy that the Lord gave you a glimmer of the way He sees Rhema: PERFECT!

    Bless her precious, perfect heart.

    (Love the Philippains 3 Scripture, too!) 🙂

  13. Pingback: Comfortable Resistance « Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

