My Magnum Opus – Not

Well, I started the day with very few options for a birthday cake. Now I have a handful of ideas, thanks to your comments and suggestions. From frosting a stack of pancakes to using banana as an egg replacer, I am amazed at all the creative ways there are to make a cake! Thanks so much!

I made a last ditch run to Whole Foods and found that Cherrybrook Kitchen has an allergy-free everything “chocolate” cake mix. (They also make a gluten-free frosting mix).

It was so simple. Just add water, oil and vanilla. I was a little disappointed that I did not have to toil long into the night inventing a new dessert.

Oh well, here it is… Don’t laugh…
hopecake
This is no Maddy creation, that’s for sure.

I don’t know if it will taste like cake, but at least it looks like cake.

 

Happy Birthday, Hope!

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope… Romans 15:13

13 thoughts on “My Magnum Opus – Not

  1. Hope, I’m so happy to be your uncle! Happy Birthday you bundle of joy! may He give you many blessed years for you and your fam. xxOO

  2. I am so glad it turned out to be a lot easier than before! It’s cute and she’ll probably be thrilled! Happy Birthday Hope!

  3. Well, Jeneil, that just “takes the cake”!

    It’s beautiful! And, I sure it tastes as great as it looks. What we moms will do for our precious babies!

    Happy Birthday, Hope!

  4. Hey, it looks better than the ones I made late this summer for my son and daughters’ birthdays! I didn’t even have any pretty sprinkles on them because we don’t do food dyes.

    That has to be hard to not be able to cook with eggs; they are like the glue that holds things together. I’m glad we don’t have egg allergies to contend with and I feel for you. We are already dairy-free, casein-free, soy-free, citrus-free, peanut-free, and cane sugar-free. And that’s a lot in and of itself. Let me keep my eggs, please!

Leave a Reply

