When I See You

Since there’s been talk of country music, I feel the need to brag a little. My younger sister is a singer/songwriter living in Nashville pursuing a record deal. Her name is Chelli Roy. Isn’t that the perfect country-singer-name???

I will never forget the day I heard her song, When I See You.

Chelli and her husband Darren had come home with her first demo CD. The whole family was seated in the living room, eager to hear Chelli’s music.

Rhema had recently been diagnosed. I had ridiculous thoughts. I felt like a failure – that I had done something wrong. I was angry, bitter and alone. Even though I was excited about my sister’s music, I couldn’t concentrate. For months, like a broken record the only thought that played in my head was my daughter has autism, my daughter has autism. I physically ached.

Before they played the first song, Darren gave an emotional introduction:

“This first song that Chelli wrote was inspired by our darling little Rhema… It’s a song about a mother’s love.”

My heart stopped. Instantly I felt a lump in my throat and tears came to my eyes. And as the music played, I experienced one of the sweetest blessings of my life. God tenderly healed a piece of my heart that night with the gift of this song. 

Please, turn your speakers up and take a good listen. (Click on the link below).

When I See You – Words and Music by Chelli Roy

15 thoughts on “When I See You

  1. Hi!

    I just found your blog. I had to respond to this post, since I am obsessed with country and know few others who share my obsession 🙂

    I am very picky about what I like and don’t like, but I loved that song. She has a great voice, and she sounds country – I think she has “it,” whatever it is – but I think she can succeed. Her voice is beautiful!

    Maybe some day I can add her to the list of my favorite country songs currently being played on the radio that is on my blog right now 🙂

    You have a cute kid, I hope you manage to do all you can to help her and that she has a happy life.

    Kate

    libertyandhope.blogspot.com – my blog – I am a 24 y/o with Asperger’s syndrome and chemical sensitivity.

  2. I am so loving “meeting” your sisters (how many more of them do you have, anyway?)! What a beautiful, talented family.

    And what an inspirational song, inspired by a gift from heaven. (I note that the next song on the playlist is called “Joy”… that name speaks to me, too!)

  3. Your sister has been blessed with a beautiful voice! I pray she’ll touch multitudes with what God has given her. Thanks so much for sharing this. It is always inspiring to hear how God ministers to us at a particular time with just the right thing. I am sure it was just the start of what He’s going to do with Chelli’s gift!

  4. What a gift through song! I want to meet your entire family. And thanks for giving me an idea of how to post MP3’s through myspace! Such a great example of how God turns all things together for good. I love the word “redeem” because it implies more than making it ok; it conveys actually turning it into GOOD.

  5. Jeneil, what an incredible family you have!

    And, thank you so much for the link to Chelli’s music. Her voice is incredible! “When I See You” is beautiful, and I look forward to listening to the rest of her playlist.

    The Lord’s sweet blessings have no end!

  6. ok, i have a confession .. i’ve been putting it off .. i came, i read, i scampered away .. i peeked again .. couldn’t hit play

    i knew, i just knew i’d be where i am right now, typing through tears . you are part of such an amazing family .. you are a light, a beacon .. for the rest of searching in the darkness .. you (all) live the life you speak .. in a word

  7. Wow, what a beautiful song! Your sister has a gorgeous voice, and what a blessing that her song was able to help your heart find peace.

    Thanks so much for sharing this!

  8. Beautiful. I’m choked up. May God continue to heal each piece of your heart, mama. And may both of your little angels find total health. On a different note. Wow! You gals got some of the good looking genes…

Leave a Reply

