Diary of an Escape Artist

Hi all,

Long time no talk. (Haha!)

Since the Great Escape in July (you know, the one where the police were called and a nice lady discovered me in her playroom), the ‘rents have put a major cramp in my style. New locks on the gates, an ID bracelet… there are rumors of a tracking device and even a service dog. (Hey, that would be cool!)

But anyway, since the Great Escape, I’ve had a couple more breakouts – one at my grandparent’s house on Labor Day. I walked right out the front door and down the street while everyone was sitting at the dinner table. Can you believe? Too. Easy.

So let me show you how it’s done.

lockSo there’s a new lock on the gate, and you can’t crack it. Big deal. You’ve got to be resourceful, people! Problem-solving is the name of the game.

 

 

 

I dub this attempt Operation Jump-in-the-Shrubs.

escape_1

See that road to the left? That’s where I’m headed.

escape_2

escape_3

escape_4

escape_5

(At this point, Moms had to put down the camera and come get me). 

Ah! Foiled again!!!

marched

Here I am being marched back into the house.

 

Man, she’s getting good. Sorry guys, I don’t think I’ll be accomplishing any stealth getaways any time soon.

But! If you ever find an adorable kid of few words (most likely with no pants, socks or shoes on) playing in your playroom or jumping on your bed…

it’s probably me.

Meanwhile, I’ll be keeping my Mommy on her toes…

and on her knees.

 praying

25 thoughts on “Diary of an Escape Artist

  1. rhema, sweetie? what say we give mama just a little break for a while, huh? stick close. she loves you fiercely, girl. (and so do lots of her friends!)

  2. You are very clever. I’m sorry your ‘rents are sharing all your secrets…it does make it hard to impress everyone if your secrets get out. Try to convince them there is a lot of money and fame to be made…just look at David Copperfield, Cris Angel MindFreak and Houdini.

  3. Hey Rhema,

    You have got to come play at my house. My mom thinks she’s got all the exits under control too but we can always figure out an escape root. There’s a nice lady across the street who never locks her front door. Maybe she has cookies! This SCD diet is killing me!

    Better luck next time!
    Wyatt

  4. Maybe just the first time I’ve noticed you write from Rhema’s point of view, but wow, I think you may be on to something. Sure she will give you plenty of actual material and stories, but maybe a girls-eye-view novel? Know you could do it.

  5. I love this idea of using her voice to write! Love the pictures too – tells the story in a way that words cannot! She definitely keeps you on your toes!

  6. Hey Rhema,

    You’re welcome at our house any time. I know lots of fun escape routes. Our neighbors have a really great “playground,” ‘cuz ours ain’t cool enough. And we live right next to a great field of corn.

    I have a great front window, too, that is a blast to dance in and then jump from there to the couch while sommersaulting. (You should try it some time! You might freak your mom out, but what a rush!)

    Your friend,
    Christian

  7. Dear Rhema, I want you at my home because you’re so CUUTEE, but don’t even think about digging a tunnel. That’s my job.
    Love,
    Jack

    Big hugs to you, Jeneil. You’re the best.
    xo

  8. HA! she reminds me of my littlest girl 🙂

    Ive been w/o internet off and on for so long, its nice to get caught up on your blog!

    I also wanted to let you know i nominated you for the Lemonade Award. When you get a chance, go to my blog and read the post about the award… it includes what you do as a nominee (um, nothings manditory… its like a ‘pass it on if you want to’ thing) and read my write up of your blog :). you are one of my top favorite writers/bloggers and i was so happy to get the chance to nominate you!! 🙂

    all the best… Alicia at Welcome to my Planet

  9. Oh man. I couldn’t find my little guy after church today. It’s such an awful feeling. (He was safely found 10 minutes later playing the piano.) You all continue to be in my prayers.

  10. This is too cute… love that look of resolve as she’s marched back into the house. I know how stressful that can be though, having to be on constant watch :(.

  11. Pingback: Connections « Autism In a Word

  12. Pingback: On second thought « Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

