Just a Loose Nut

The past week has been rather eventful.

~First, Hope comes down with that flu everyone’s been talking about.

~Then a hawk crashes into the window on my screen door. Leaving lots of window2yucky bird blood and feathers.

~Later I get attacked by a pigeon on steroids in my breezeway.

~Next a radiator starts leaking.

~Then Rhema comes down with that flu everyone’s been talking about. (So we had to cancel her sleep deprived EEG.)

~Then the home security system malfunctions and begins screaming, beeping and chirping at us. (Imagine how a sick, sensory-sensitive girl manages blasting alarms in the house. Not well.) I fear the hawk and the pigeon have come back to take me down.

~Then a friend brings over a gluten-filled, dairy-fraught, amazing dinner for me to devour. Ah!

~After that, two neighbor men come over – one to put cardboard on my broken bird window and one to go downstairs in the basement (because I’m scared to do it myself) to turn off a transformer for the alarm system.

~Then one of the neighbor men tell me that I’ve a got major pipe leak happening in the basement.

~Then I wonder why crazy things always wait to happen until the husband is on the other side of the world. (Like the time a fox made its home in our backyard… but that’s a whole ‘nother story).

~Next day the security system man comes, looking like Saint Nick, to fix the alarms. After discovering that the boiler is COLD and the leak in the basement has destroyed a transformer and other electrical thingys, Santa Claus shakes his finger at me and says, “You’ve got a serious problem, young lady.”

~At which point I start laughing like Tom Hanks in The Money Pit on the verge of (in)sanity.

~At which point I hear water running, and I find a sick-but-not-sick-enough-to-slow-down Rhema starting to take a bath in the washing machine.

rhema_washing_machine

~At which point, I see a Bible verse that my friend left for me weeks ago in a cupboard above the washing machine.

verse1

~At which point, I seek out the other parts of the verse that she has left in the house.

verse2 verse3

The LORD your God is with you,
He is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
He will quiet you with His love,
He will rejoice over you with singing.
Zephaniah 3:17

 

Oh. Thank you, God.

~Later, George the plumber comes to take a look at my serious problem. After careful inspection, he proclaims,

“Oh, no problem! You just are have a loose nut.”

(pause, blank stare)

I am? I do?

 

Oh. Thank you, God.

31 thoughts on “Just a Loose Nut

  1. “For such a time as this” those verses were placed for you. I remember literally cutting the home security wires in my garage with scissors when we moved into this house and they went off as I was babysitting 3 plus my own 2 (one with major SI issues). Arrggh…..the birds would put me over the edge by themselves. That washing machine picture is precious! What a week. You deserve a drink this Friday or a large bag of cotton candy or your own top 10 list!

  2. I love the humor your bring to even the most trying situations. What a great approach to life. Sometimes we have to laugh, because it’s better than crying. I hope things calm down a little bit, though!

  3. Goodness Gracious!! Blue cotton candy on the way.

    And THANKS for starting my day off with that Tom Hanks clip. I laughed and laughed and laughed. It’s going on my desktop and I’m going to pull it up regularly.

    Love you crazy bird girl!!

  4. Ok wait do the girls have H1N1? OH MY Goodness!!!

    Sending love and good thoughts from Jersey to Boston.

    I do love the pic of Rhema in the washing machine. My two like to sit on the door to the dishwasher.

  5. Oh Jeneil-the lover of living creatures-you are loved…just know that…you are loved!! Sending Ben and Jerry’s Icecream your way!! Big hugs to you all!!

  6. I have to agree, you are a loose nut! How could George assess you so quickly and accurately?

    God is good. And He has a wicked sense of humor, I’m convinced. Sometimes I shake my finger at God and say, “You are not even remotely funny.”

  7. I have been following your blog for quite some time…yes i am a “stalker” i guess you could say. But reading this last blog made me tear up and laugh haha…..I have to say you are at least…a Strong loose nut 🙂 Keep on going….remember he didn’t say it would be easy just that it would be worth it.

  8. Jeneil,

    I just want you to know I laughed *out loud* at the loose nut comment… and I’m praying for you and your family…. my goodness- it sounds like it was a MAJOR Mike -n- Ike kind of day.

    I’m first in line to buy your book. I’m telling you God wants you to share these trials (and victories)… He’s given you the gift of writing, the experiences, and the strength to SURVIVE these experiences with grace and joy…

    goodness, I can’t wait to read it!

  9. God bless you!! you have the patience and strength of 5 moms. we know God puts no more on us than we can bear and you my friend are a bright example of that! as i said beore you never fail to amaze me. i agree with MH i cant wait to read your many books that will bless and encourage us all. i am praying for you and your family. i love the picture. pray the girls are doing better soon.

    michele

  10. Thanks for staying SO positive in the face of challenges (and also for the hysterical laughter)! Come by and pick up a bloggy award! 🙂 You deserve it!

    • Nicki,
      She climbs into the washing machine all the time and sits on the agitator and spins around. Only recently did she discover how to turn the water on. =}

  11. You and leah and the 4 kids are always on my mind. wish you lived closer so i could help. I pray that your husband has a safe tour overseas and returns safely. you and my daughtrer are remarkable ladies. hang in there

  12. Good grief that’s one eventful week or what! At least everything has happened BEFORE Thanksgiving. I know what you mean about the other half being over on the other side of the planet – always works that was around here too.

  13. lol! You should totally have a reality show! I want to cry for you and laugh with you! I guess I should be grateful for my handy husband, crazy though he may be (he’s watching Sponge Bob as we speak, quoting all the lines 😉 Gotta love him! Praying for your sanity in holding on to God’s peace and provision. Love you!!!

  14. A HAWK through your window? Wow… now that’s a big bird. The thought of you laughing like Tom Hanks in that video clip made me laugh. So glad you’re just a loose nut. 😉

  15. Ha Ha Ha to infinity…How do you do it!!!??? Live each day with such passion, openess,and staggering insight and yet still make us all smile through a tear and laugh ourselves silly? God is good and how could he not take delight in you my ridiculously amazing big sis.

Leave a Reply

