Good Day

This good day
it is a gift from You
The world is turning in its place
because You made it to
I lift my voice
to sing a song of praise
on this good day

~ Fernando Ortega

On the last day of 2009 a memorial service was held for a friend who battled multiple sclerosis for 32 years.

32 long years that saw wheelchairs and walkers, loss of sight and damaged vocal chords, debilitating pain, chemotherapy, steroid infusions, daily injections, infections, rehabs, hospitals, heartbreak.

And on the day we the bereaved, gathered to celebrate her life, the pastor stood and said,

“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”
(Ps. 118:24)

And rejoice we did. Because she is finally home.

And rejoice we did. Because she did.

In her days that the Lord made, she was glad.

.

I’ve been studying Genesis 1 with friends. I’ve heard it all before. God said “let there be light” and there was light… God saw that the light was good and… God called the light Day. So many times I’ve heard or read those words and they never made their way into my heart until now. God, who is Light, gave light. And called it good. And called it day. “This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.” (Ps.118:23)

Of late, my days with Rhema have been challenging. She’s such a good girl, really. She just requires so much care and attention, and honestly I spend much of my time … regretting. On this day, my almost-6 year old repeatedly messed her pants, put things in her mouth she shouldn’t, (bit me when I tried to get them out), did not speak, did not look, did not focus, did not comply, and became so frustrated and upset that she broke out into hives.

And my husband, on the phone, on the other side of the world, still wants to know, “God, what happened?” Nearly four years since the diagnosis… and there are times when still we wrestle with “why”, “what” and “how could” this happen.

God, in great glory and wonder, made this day. He magnificently ordained it to be as it is: good.

O may I follow Debi’s example and raise my arms to rejoice in the Maker of my days. May I honor Him with my life in this day. In all He has given me, may I be glad.

19 thoughts on “Good Day

  1. I think the school breaks are hard on them. Devin is a “hot mess”! Unfocused stimmy and sensory seeking. I was relieved when I heard the bus driver beep the horn. I think he was relieved too!

    I am wondering if I can’t find a camp for breaks.

  2. woo-hoo!! I felt the same way about the Roc going back to school!

    So sorry for the hard parts. Hope you have a good day today!

  3. So hard to rejoice in the midst of suffering. I’ve been in awe of your friend and her choice to ‘keep her praise’ in the most trying of circumstances. She -and You – inspire me.

    There will be less whining here in PA today.

  4. I’m sorry for the loss of your friend, but rejoicing with you that she is in a place of no more pain.

    (Yes, woo-hoo, for Christmas break being over! What a hard “vacation!” As a former teacher I could never wait for break to start, and now I loathe it and can’t wait for it to be over and get back to our “normal” routine.)

  5. I am sorry your days have been so hard…..oh the hard days, make us appreciate the good ones. We still have three weeks left of Christmas break (Utah…..year round school…year round breaks, ugh). I will take any leftover sympathy you don’t need. Here’s to a great year, with less poop and more words!

  6. J, oh, girl, I understand. how i wish i was there to give you a hug. and how I wish even MORE that you were HERE to give ME a hug.

    I have a BIG, TOUGH day coming up this Monday, Jan 11. Send me all the strength you can, friend. My kids need me to be at my best and my strongest. It may be the most difficult day of my life. Not sure — maybe the day my husband left me was harder — but this will definitely be a close second. Send me eerything ya got. I will need it. And it really does make me feel better, and stronger, knowing that you are thinking and praying for me.

    Leah

    • sending you everything i got, sweet Leah. all my prayers. may you know the Lord’s hand upholds you, and He goes with you.

  7. Jeneil, I may so blessed by your writing and Rhema’s story. I’m still dancing with you and Hope over Rhema said “Sorry.” Do you find yourself singing the song? “This is the day. This is the day. This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice. I will rejoice and be glad in it. This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it. This is the day. This is the day that the Lord has made.”

    I find myself singing it some days. (Especially on the days the kids go back to school.)

  8. Oh to rejoice in God’s unconditional and steadfast goodness when life all around us seems so unfair and untouched by God is to truly rejoice. Though my hills pale in comparison to most peoples struggles, God truly gets glorified when we choose to acknowledge and a love Him in the midst of pain and “why”s. I’m praying to get there more every day.
    Neily, you truly have allowed God to get so much glory in your whole parenting journey (Rhema, Hope’s allergies, Brandon being gone). His strength in and through you is indescribable and priceless. I am honored and beyond blessed to be in your life for as long as God allows me to be.
    Your friend must be dancing up a storm in heaven. Praise God for her testimony. What a privilege to have know someone so committed to Christ through it all.
    You are amazing!!!

  9. Hello
    This is a nice post which is well written with beautiful words.Its very inspiring post for me.I do believe that God will all good.Everybody have hard days and good days in life.Thanks for such wonderful post.

  10. As I read this post, my mind was drawn to the “belt of truth” that we, as Christians, need to be mindful to put on as a piece of our armor to withstand the fiery darts of the enemy of our souls. (Ephesians 6:14)

    I am praying for you & your family. Thank you for acknowledging God’s light and goodness. It was a timely reminder for me today.

    I pray that God would give you strength, mercy and grace every day that you and Brandon parent together, yet from afar.

    You are such a beautiful example of one who has never lost her praise. Blessings to you sweet sister!

  11. If I can’t quite be glad in the moment, it is often enough to just ask for the willingness to see things differently.

    “I don’t have the capacity to see this how You see this, but I’m willing.”

    Blessings to your friend who made her transition and peace to those who love her.

  12. “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

    My grandmother says this every day when she awakens. I can only hope to follow her lead … And yours, my friend.

    Wish I could give you a hand in the messy pants cleanup. Honest.

    Wanna chocolate cookie?

  13. We had a very messy holiday too. 😦 Not sure why Jack felt the need to poop in every room of the house. He’s been doing so well, and then bammo ..

    You are right though. Every day is a day that the Lord has made .. I needed that reminder. I hope that returning to school helped Rhema. I know Jack is so much better now.

Leave a Reply

