Someone taught her to use scissors…

.

Available for purchase free:

 

Personal Shredder

 

Destroy junk mail, play-doh, books, tortilla chips, children’s artwork, tater tots, toilet paper, homework, bills, receipts and other sensitive documents in seconds with a high-quality, long-lasting paper shredder.

Ideal for home or office.

If you have it, she can shred it.

Free shipping and handling.

Comes with her own scissors.

(Warning: Will tantrum if scissors taken away).

 

34 thoughts on “Someone taught her to use scissors…

  1. Oh My!!! UMM wow. Actually I could use her to destroy all the documents in the basement that Hubby doesn’t have time to shred. She’ll be busy for at least 3 days.

    Feel free to come on down to Jersey!

    Oh and those are some excellent fine motor skills!

    xoxox

  2. First thing I thought-great fine motor work there! It took so long for the Roc to get a handle on how to work a scissors–she’s doing great! Hopefully she won’t get to that beautiful hair of hers!

  3. YES – Keep her hair in a pony tail! Foster is an excellent shredder, and has honed his skills on shirts, hair and blankets. I can withstand the tantrum when we take the scissors away, but as for holding up when I see that he’s found the scissors again? Haven’t perfected that one yet.

    xo

  4. I’m sorry but I have a question for Jasmin. “You love this? You just love this?” How in the world can you love the fact that a child with severe autism has destructive behaviors. I hardly think the mom loves this. Do you live with autism Jasmin?

    The advice that I always received from good therapists was this, Imagine the child doing “_______” behavior at 21 years old. That was enough to scare me into realizing the priority has to be on good behavior plans and services.

    You’re a great mom. I hope things get easier.

    • Amanda, I think Jasmin does not love the behavior, but can perhaps appreciate the fact that we can smile about it. I remember reading a book called “News From the Border” about a boy with Aspergers who was obsessed with unscrewing things with a screwdriver. His mother wrote that they would sit in chairs only to have them crumble, doorknobs would come off in their hands — things were falling apart all around her. And she cried bitterly.

      It’s definitely tough at times, and I admit that I worry about the future. But God always provides. Yesterday, for e.g., there were many piles of shredded books and papers around the house. Before I had a chance to get upset, my friends went around and cleaned it all up.

      For now, I’ll laugh and thank God for the fine motor skills. =)

    • Hey Amanda

      I do in fact live with autism and I laugh, alot. I can picture Rhema at 21. She is sitting next to her mom helping her cut out the pieces of fabric to make a beautiful quilt . All because her interests were encouraged and directed and smiled upon when she was younger. Or she could be cutting up magazines to create collages or snowflakes to decorate her home and church. Or strips of paper for papier mache or for scrap booking, or fabric for rag rugs. The possibilities are endless.
      Rhema is a little girl. All little kids love to cut with scissors. If everything our kids do is looked at with fear and dread when will we love them, or laugh with them?

      I hope Jeneil, you know my comment came from a place of love and understanding, just as I know you are not really trying to give Rhema away.

      Amanda I am sorry I offended you. It was not my intention.

  5. It’s encouraging to all moms of all children Jeneil to find humor in a situation that you could have just had frustration over. It’s a testimony from you to me and I think a lot of other moms too.

  6. A sense of humor is very important when you have a kid with autism. I have been working with Connor on this cutting skills…since July…I appreciate the modeling. 🙂

  7. I agree with Erika.

    Life with autism is way better with a sense of humor. It doesn’t change the goals, but the road is much darker if you don’t laugh along the way.

    We’ve got some work for Rhema here; send her on over.

  8. yes we all need to laugh. thanks for using this outlet to model that for us–it is so different in the moment than after the fact. funny once it becomes a blog post, i find for myself.

  9. I’m appreciating fine motor skills here, too. Until Mom decides it is time to limit what is obviously a satisfying activity for Rhema, the humor helps, all of us.

    I’m sure Amanda had good intentions. I’ve called-out other commenters, much my regret. (Bet she doesn’t do it again. Here.) 😉

  10. Look at her guide hand holding on to the other side of the paper!!! Woo Woo!!! Adam at 8.5 still struggles with this. I love the picture Jasmine painted of Rhema crafting when she is older. May it be!
    P.S. is it wrong that my 2nd thought when I read your post, after delighting in the fine motor skills, was a slightly jealous “oh that would keep a child occupied for ages…”? Not the goal I know…

  11. Oh Jeneil you made me laugh so hard with your title. Poor Dr. Suess 😦 Hannah once decided to cut every single page out of one of her books (quite expertly actually) and then proudly showed me her handiwork. I just pray Rhema doesn’t make a move on that gorgeous hair of hers.
    Natalie

  12. Cutest shredder on the entire east coast!

    Joy is learning to make snips with adaptive scissors, but hasn’t come anywhere near Rhema’s level of achievement. Should one rejoice, or sigh in relief?

    This all reminds me a little bit of the joke about how parents can’t wait for their children to learn to walk, can’t wait for their children to learn to talk — and then wish that the kid would fer-goodness-sake just sit down and be quiet… 🙂

    Hugs!

  13. Well, let’s look on the bright side…many kids with autism can’t even USE scissors, and she has positively MASTERED this skill. The OT will be so proud… Keep smiling!!

  14. Oh, the shredding. And the tearing and breaking
    and disemboweling of small electronics.
    I remember the suggestion that Elmer be given specific things to destroy.
    Ha.
    And then for a couple of years, the routine destruction of Lego masterpieces; entire cities gone in a nanosecond.
    I thought it would never end.
    But it has quieted down to the occasional shredding of a fidget.
    Dustpans have played a big role in my life.

  15. Cute SOOOO Cute!!! I often visit to read and hear Gods heart on how to pray, but I always get so blessed by you. I know one day you will write a book. As mothers we use ever moment to enjoy our kids. We must enjoy them with smiles and at times tears, but one thing is for sure we will never get today back. So keep on keeping on and holding Gods hand.

    At times we get focused on all that is wrong and we miss the little things that are so full of joy as we look at them through Gods eye’s. May God’s Joy reat on you and your home!!!!!

    In prayer,
    Sis Taggart

  16. Hilarious! What a great advertisement! Go Rhema. My mom was just asking for a shredder the other day 🙂 Fine motor skills indeed. That’s awesome, Rhema! Maybe it’s time for lock box for the “sensitive documents”. Oh and I’m in agreement with the others; keep Rhema’s and Hope’s beautiful hair tied up.
    Love you Neily. Miss you. We have to come over soon!

  17. Hannah just decided to make unconventional use of her scissors again too. This time it was a 4 inch long and about the size of one of my fingers in girth piece of her hair! UGH! That’t the third time in 6 months she’s cut her own hair. What am I gonna do with that girl!?!
    Natalie

  18. Pingback: Seven years of Thankful « Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

