Overwhelmed and Thankful

overwhelm: “to load, heap, treat, or address with an overpowering or excessive amount of anything.”

A letter of thanks from Brandon:

When I asked my wife for a card (from her!) because she hadn’t sent a promised letter, I didn’t expect to receive 200 cards, several packages, family pictures, many handwritten letters, cookies, fudge, this incredible, addicting toffee bar which melted in my mouth and immediately grew on my waist, tons of useful hygiene items, etc. I got so much stuff that I routinely showed up at our Sunday weekly mission brief with a box or two full of food and other items for my Personal Security Detail (PSD). They are a young(er) bunch of Arizona National Guard military police who carry lots of weapons (I’m pretty darn safe), work up an appetite, and can devour anything edible.

I got cards and packages from all over the US (and world). Here’s the list—
MI (GO BLUE!), NY, MA, VA, KS, , TX, CT, MN, DE, Germany, NM, FL, TN, MD, OK, IL, GA, CA, MO, WA, CO, OR, NJ, OH, PA, NE, IN, NV, WI, NC, and NH.

I was blessed with packages from special needs classrooms, church youth groups, church care groups, individuals who made homemade goodies, and even some small companies.

I loved the pictures of the families…especially those families who have walked with us through these hard times…and those who share our struggles.

I am grateful for the messages of encouragement. I am grateful that you all gave me something to look forward to each Saturday when I rolled in from the Iraq/Syrian border and picked up mail. I am thankful for the hard earned money many spent on sending expensive packages. I am thankful that while I missed my family during the holidays, I always had a ton of letters and cards that somehow eased the loneliness of the times.

I have a fear though—that my heartfelt gratitude will not reach everyone who sent something. I just don’t have time to personally thank everyone. I wish I did. I’m sending this to Jeneil for posting on our blog with the prayer that each person/family/church group/company who sent something my way will get my Thank You message through her. Please forward to everyone if you know they played a part in this magnificent outpouring of love for someone (and a family) they have never met.

It so reminds me of the parable of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10) who cared for a stranger he did not know—even taking him to an inn and paying for his unforeseen expenses. Thank you for living out that example of giving in our lives – you’ll never know how much it means to us.

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

17 thoughts on “Overwhelmed and Thankful

  1. Aw man, now that made me feel awesome this morning 🙂 Yay for the kindness of people. Sometimes my faith in humanity needs a little kickstart.

  2. Wow! Reminds me of when my dad received a lot of cards from children while in Vietnam. He still has them (actually I have them now as the family keeper of memories).

  3. Awesome. I love the wall. Usually don’t see love like that unless you’re lying in a hospital bed. This is how it ought to be.

    Brandon, We’re praying for you over there. Thank you for your sacrifice and service to our country. We love you.

  4. fantastic! What a wonderful response. I wish I would have had my act together enough to join in? I routinely include your family in my prayers and thank Brandon for keeping my family safe! How overwhelming it must have been for him! What a joy!

  5. Amen, amen
    I’m blessed you were blessed by all those who collaborated in this effort. God bless them all and God continue to keep you while serve Him and US!

  6. What a blessing! I’m so blessed by the out pouring of love towards you and I’m not even you!!!! It puts us New Hopians to shame. We most definitely will be sending you some love soon. Know that you are in our prayers and we miss you terribly.

Leave a Reply

