I need to not forget

We’re moving.

My husband received military orders today and it’s officially official. Brandon will be coming home from Iraq sometime in October or November. (Thanks to all of you who have asked!) We’re on the home stretch of a 15-month deployment!

In December we will move to the DC metro area.

This is not what I wanted.

This has been our home for four years. Hope was born here; it’s the only home she’s ever known. My family is here – my parents and younger brother. My dear twin sister and her family are here- we’re just not meant to be apart. Our community and church are here. It breaks my heart to leave behind people I love dearly.

.

And then there’s Rhema.

(Isn’t that always the line? She will always be my subject to approval, my special consideration, my exception clause.)

After three years of tweaking it and working at it she is in an outstanding learning environment. Her school, Futures, is the best of best. Her therapists outside of school are excellent; they know her, teach her and love her so well. Her neurologist of four years cares and understands a little-understood seizure disorder and how it affects Rhema better than anyone.

Everything is in place, and Rhema is thriving. It is finally as it should be.

But we are moving.

We’ve tried just about everything to stay, but, apparently, it’s time to go.

I’ve done my research, I’ve called schools and admissions people in Maryland and Virginia. It’s been discouraging to say the least.

Friends, I’m being called to task on everything I’ve said on this here blog.

And I need to not forget

~That, simply, I believe God loves my daughter more than me and He’ll take care of her.

~That He has always faithfully provided for our every need.

~That if I rehearse His gracious deeds of the past, I will find light for the present. Hope for the future.

It goes something like this:

 

“God, our little girl has autsim. We need the best services, teachers and therapists you got.” Check!

“God, we need our girl to get into a special school NOW, but it has a five-year waiting list.” Check! (We got in in three months).

“God, our little girl has a rare seizure disorder and we need to find a way to treat it.” Check!

“God, we want therapists who are willing to work with her on weekends. Oh, and we need some money to pay for it.” Check, check!

“God, Brandon is deploying for a year. We need help!” Check, check, check!

“God, we need a respite care provider. Oh yeah, and some insurance coverage.” Check!

“God, now we need to move Rhema to another new school. Can you do it?” Check!

~That He will do it again.

~That His plans are better than mine. “In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.” Prov 16:9

~That a bad attitude is not helpful.

~That cherry blossoms in bloom are, admittedly, pretty cool. (I’m reaching here.)

~That I can lay every fear, every heartache at His feet. And He is my strength and song.

So do not fear, for I am with you;
       do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
       I will strengthen you and help you;
       I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Is. 41:10)

.

If you believe these things with me, will you do me a favor in the weeks ahead?

Pray that I remember. Remind me to remember.

.

. 

If you have any connections to the DC area and know of any good autism programs, therapists or doctors, please e-mail me at rhemashope@gmail.com.

2 thoughts on “I need to not forget

  1. Pingback: ACT today « a diary of a mom

  2. Pingback: Stayin’ Put « Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

