Tidbits

~I started my new job last week. This is the first time I’ve worked outside the home as a mom, and I’ve been a bit nervous about managing it all. It’s a good change so far – I plan dinners for the week, set out clothes and pack lunches ahead of time! The husband actually got teary-eyed watching me finally get organized. I feel like I’ve been blessed with a great opportunity. It’s fun to use a “different” part of my brain again. Thankfully, I managed to get through my first week without any “potty” talk, but I find that all my conversations invariably lead back to my kids! No matter how I try to compartmentalize, I still seem to see everything through the Mommy lens… which leads me to that fact that…

~I solved a medical mystery! Hope’s asthma has been pretty bad lately. We started noticing that whenever she took a bath she’d have an asthma attack. Hope is a bubbly, happy girl who is usually too excited about life to complain about anything. But during her baths her lips would turn blue and she would panic and gasp and wail and beg for her medicine. Once I was alone with the girls in the tub, and I worried that I wouldn’t have enough time to get her to the hospital. It’s the only time her asthma has ever really frightened me. Well, I finally figured out that mold in our ooollllldddd bathroom must be triggering the attacks. She’s allergic to mold.
So then the question became do we remove the mold or just stop bathing her?
We stopped bathing her.
Just kidding.
But we won’t have to deal with the mold anymore because…

~We’re moving in a week! About 3 miles up the road. In all the sorting and purging and packing, it occurred to me that I had done nothing to prepare Rhema for the move. (She doesn’t seem to grasp social stories.) So while we were at Sears buying a new washer and dryer, I sat on the floor, pulled her into my lap and had a heart-to-heart with her. “Rhema,” I said. “We’re moving.”
In response, she picked her nose.
Then she sprinted off to make sure all the dryer doors in the store were closed.
Phew. That went well…

~Speaking of things going well, I got to see my J-girlz at the Doug Flutie Bowl last week – Jersey, Jess and Judith! (Jersey came all the way up from guess where?) Any time spent with these dear friends just does my heart good. How can I begin to explain the bond – the sisterhood – between us autism mamas? I think my friend Andrea says it best:

our invisible tattoos match.

13 thoughts on “Tidbits

  1. Matching invisible tattoos! Yes, yes!

    Congratulations on your new job and new house, and figuring out the mold issue and getting set to leave it behind. I know what you mean about social-stories not seeming to make an impact. How does one know whether the words of preparation have made any impact at all, in the absence of questions / reactions? (I’m struggling with this for Joy in the wake of the news that JoyDad’s stepmother is in hospice care and only expected to live a few weeks. How in the world to prepare/explain?)

  2. You just managed to make me wish I could hang out with all of you. I’d be the one without kids artificially inserting anecdotes about my dogs in order to try and bond 😉 What a lovely photo!

  3. Thanks for the link Jeneil. Loved the pictures on FB, love Jess and Judith and Jersey! Wish I were there to meet them. I’d change my name to Jane:)

    One of my favorite social story/photo books was one like this: http://www.amazon.com/Moving-Activity-Journal-Activities-Scrapbooking/dp/097965470X/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1295975336&sr=1-3

    Taking pictures of the old will be a memorial. So much has gone down in that old house…Put a marker there! and God is always at work doing a new thing! in the new place:) We wait expectantly.

  4. Man, what a bunch of excitement going on at once! exciting move, exciting job… but w/ that im sure is a decent dose of stress. take care of yourself! im excited for all your new changes.

    and btw, rhema’s nose pick? hilarious!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

