Rhema-proofing

I dumped a basket full of safety locks and latches for doors, cabinets, the stove and refrigerator onto the counter at the hardware store. The checker-outer dude grinned and said, “Looks like you’ve got a 2 year-old at home!”

“Actually, she’s six. Going on seven.” I smiled sweetly.

And if you know my Rhema, I don’t have to tell you that she figured out all those locks in a matter of minutes!

.

We’re finally in our new house, and I love it!

Before we moved in, Brandon and some friends ours, Peter and Steve, spent two days dreaming up creative ways to Rhema-proof the place.

 

(The cable for the camera is still in a box somewhere so I took a picture of the pictures of Peter and Steve on the camera with my cell phone. Yeah.)

We keep watch over Rhema with a monitor when she’s in her bedroom at night. For a while it worked well, but then she started yanking the plug for the camera. So we set a ledge up high in the new house, and Peter actually put an outlet near the ceiling.

Locks, locks, locks on almost every door including the closet in her bedroom…

Sure, she’ll find a way. Eventually she’ll slide a chair over, climb atop and undo the latch. But at least this buys us some time, and there are alarms on the main doors…

.

Rhema loves to dance in windows. I wanted her to have the room with the best windows in the house. But of course there is the problem of our little escape artist jumping out. The men came up with a clever way to secure the windows – let’s just say, she won’t be getting out.

Many of the outlets in the bedrooms are connected to light switches. But a lamp in Rhema’s room is a disaster waiting to happen. (In the past, we’ve had to remove all the light bulbs from her room.) So we put in a ceiling light.

I look  forward to the day when she can safely have more than just her bed in her room. For now, less is more.

We are planning to rip out her carpet and put down a wood floor.

We are installing a fence around the house in the next couple months.

All of this in an effort to keep safe this precious child that God has entrusted to us. (And, yes, to protect some property as well!). I am keenly aware of the fact that in spite of all these things, my girl can still find danger and mishap.

“You who sit down in the High God’s presence,
spend the night in Shaddai’s shadow,
Say this: “God, you’re my refuge.
I trust in you and I’m safe!”
That’s right—he rescues you from hidden traps,
shields you from deadly hazards.
His huge outstretched arms protect you—
under them you’re perfectly safe;
his arms fend off all harm.

Yes, because God’s your refuge,
the High God your very own home,
Evil can’t get close to you,
harm can’t get through the door.
He ordered his angels
to guard you wherever you go.”
Psalm 91, The Message

.

And so I pray. For freedom and joy for my family. For His truth and light to invade every room. For mercy and grace to flood the halls of this house.

18 thoughts on “Rhema-proofing

  1. I realized today that I haven’t heard from you in a while. I am subscribed to your blog but haven’t gotten any notifications! Was concerned that something was wrong.

    Congrats on your new home! gail

  2. Hmm, something tells me that Rhema and Nik would be a very dangerous combination! And that we have similar *ahem* “decorating” styles for our children.

    Hoping you find peace and joy in your new home. And that Rhema loves her room so much she will not want to climb out this glorious windows!

  3. amen!
    and thank God for good friends with great skills… i love how God has gifted each of us with special talents that we can use to bless others.

    PARTY DOWN, PARTY PEOPLE!

    can’t wait to visit!

  4. Congratulations on your new home! I love to see how you make things work for your young window-dancer, so much like mine… We’ve been modifying around here too lately, but how much fun to have a brand new place to go to work on! 🙂

  5. Oh you are so lucky to have people who you can call on to do handy stuff! 🙂
    We’ve had a fence with a giant hole in it for months because the quote we got to repair it was $500+! Yikes. Meanwhile, the dog keeps getting out (I turn my back for a half-second, I tell ya.)

    Nothing like a child, of course, but I pine for handy friends and neighbors 🙂

    The new house looks beautiful! Congrats!

  6. Congratulations on your new home! I always feel kind of bad too that Andrew has to sleep in a room with literally just a bed and a few stuffed animals, but it really is to keep him safe. I hope the transition goes smoothly for all of you!

  7. The new place looks amazing and lead free! I hope it is a happy home for you all.

    One trick I’ve found that works–you probably know this one–reversing the knobs on the doors. You put the bathroom type pop locks on the inside of your child’s room and they can’t get out at night w/o a very small thin metal key to pop out the center.

    On one of the exit doors (that is not a double sided deadbolt) we bought one of the code key locks from Home Depot and reversed that as well. That way our son can’t leave out the garage w/o knowing and correctly punching in the code (and if he figures it out it is easy to change). You need a second lock to actually keep others OUT, but it is well worth it.

    Good luck!

  8. Congratulations! It looks like beautiful home -lots of light!

    You, being the locking pro, have probably seen these, been there, done that, sorry, they sucked; but just in case:

    http://www.safety1st.com/usa/eng/Products/Home-Safety/Latches-Locks/Details/110-71175-Tot-Lok-Deluxe-Starter-Set

    I worked in a home that used these and I definately could not open the cupboard when these were on – the magnet is too strong. Of course, I’m not an opening pro like Rhema 🙂

Leave a Reply

