Father, I want…

“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” ~Matt. 7:11

.

Rhema had no school for the day. Hope had a dance class at the YMCA. While we waited for Hope, Rhema sat by the window the whole time, staring at the pool, yearning to be in the water. (The fact that she sat at all is noteworthy!)

There was a time when Rhema was so far away, so lost in her own world. She did not seem to feel strongly about anything or anyone in her environment. Only objects that made repetitive noises or could be flapped held her interest. She could care less about the kids and toys and activities around her.

So nowadays, when we see that she really wants something – or (joy, joy!) she communicates it to us in some way (a PEC symbol, a verbal approximation) – well, of course we jump through hoops to get it for her.

So when I sent the picture to B, I did not bother to write a caption. I knew he’d know what I wanted to say. “Does this picture not capture “longing”? And look at her! She *wants* something! B, she loves to swim. I hope she understands. I hope she knows how much I wish I could let her get in the pool.”

B’s response: “I look at this picture and am comforted. I’m comforted because I know with all that this life has for us in terms of challenges or desires or whatever, I WANT Rhema to go swimming… as her father, I WANT nothing more than to take her myself. Our heavenly Father sees us looking through the window at life, and WANTS good things for us. Just like I see Rhema looking and innocently desiring to jump in that water, so too He watches us and CARES about our desires. I have to TRUST Him that He will give us what we need and, when it is good for us, He truly wants us to have what we desire.”

So many things I desperately want… my Rhema to speak, my Hope to be allergy-free, my marriage to thrive, my sister to be well, my friends to heal.

But in the wanting and the waiting, sweet comfort is found: He gives good gifts.

Our longings, God sees. Our hearts, God knows. And He loves even more…

than a father who would move heaven and earth to go swimming with his girl.

.

Ed note: I wrote most of this post last fall when Brandon was stationed in Iraq. Since he’s been home, he’s gone swimming with Rhema. =) Another special father sent me a message with the lyrics to this Bob Carlisle song, and reminded me of the extravagant love of the Father.

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think…” Eph. 3:20

12 thoughts on “Father, I want…

  1. Lately, the Dude (formerly Elmer) has had a faith that works for him, which humbles me no end. I talk fairly regularly about my own; so imagine how pleased I’ve been lately to hear him in high-stress situations saying things like, “take it, god. I’ve done all I can.” Or even, “Help me, Bro”, turning around to explain that he thinks of god as a friend, therefore he calls him Bro.

  2. Once again I read your writing, and see a photo of your beautiful daughter, and the tears well up. (Tears have been very close to the surface for me a lot lately.)

    Thank you for your witness.

  3. This is one of the great examples of a couple who steadfastly parents TOGETHER, through their faith and love, through all kinds of challenges they face…

    Thanks for sharing such a personal exchange between you and the Hub… I often sat here in awe as my own soldier had the ability to COMFORT ME with his faith from so far away… in the face of autism here at home.

    xoxo

    God is good.

  4. Yay!! It’s so nice to have a longing fulfilled. May there be many more and amen to the other longings for healing that you wrote about as well.

  5. What a joy it was reading this. My thoughts, are one day you will be in the pool with Rhema

    Psalms 37:4 Delight thyself also in the Lord: and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

    This would only be one of many..

    May God continue to bless you all.

    OX

  6. You highlighted several of my favorite scriptures. Love the picture of your beautiful girl. I pray that I long and seek for the Father in each action and thought in my day. Your picture captures it perfectly. Praying for abundant blessings on you and your precious family.

  7. Pingback: Because she asked |

Leave a Reply

