In the cave

I cry aloud to the LORD; I lift up my voice to the LORD for mercy.
I pour out my complaint before him; before him I tell my trouble.
When my spirit grows faint within me, it is you who know my way.
I cry to you, O LORD; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion …”

~ A prayer of David when he was trapped in the cave, Psalm 142

.

She screams her fear

like the house is haunted

all through the night

.

She screams her frustration

because words can’t be found

all through the day

.

She screams her pain

Physical, emotional or both?

I don’t know. Lord, I don’t know.

.

She screams her anger

Her own mother can’t understand what she needs

.

She screams her torment raw

trapped in a body, her senses can’t cope

.

She screams her sorrow

no one knows the trouble she sees

.

Try as I might I can’t numb myself to the sound

And there’s nothing I can do that will bring her comfort

On my knees I bring her to Jesus

again and again

like a woman stumbling, pressing through the crowds with hurting child in arms

desperate

finding Him at last

oh, my refuge, my portion

falling down, holding her up, crying out,

Please, sweet Lord, help my baby.

 

26 thoughts on “In the cave

  1. Trying to think of something to say to bring comfort and to let you know you are not alone. I am praying for solace, for all our children.

  2. Thinking of you, and praying. There has been a healing ministry at our church this weekend. I have been on my knees and holding my son before the Lord too. Imploring, begging Him not to pass us by. We are going again tomorrow night. When I stand again, I will stand on your behalf too. Lots of love.

    xx

  3. Jeneil….I am so, so, so, sorry. Just so sorry. I too am like Jasmin trying to find words that might bring you comfort. Please know that you are not alone. As you kneel before Our Potter our Creater please know that we are kneeling with you. That we are right beside you. Beside Rhema.

  4. Praying for you and your family. And I take hope in knowing that the Holy Spirit is interceding for you as well…

    “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8:26).

  5. many hugs, prayers and love…

    As I was reading this post a song started running through my head…Cave of Adullum by Sara Groves. Ever heard it?

    Speak to me, speak to me in my cave of Adullam. Reach to me, reach to me. No one cares for my soul. I thought I saw your kingdom, but it’s not going to happen like I thought it would happen. . Remind me, remind me of the vision you gave me. Remind me, remind me what anointing oil is for. I need to know you’re near me. I need to know you are holding me just as closely . Chorus: as the day you took my life and gave me a vision, as the day you poured the oil and gave me a dream. I can’t believe this is happening. How does a shepherd become a king?
    Here’s a link to listen: http://www.myspace.com/saragroves/music/songs/cave-of-adullum-album-version-28426042

  6. He is Jeneil…He is. His ways just are SO not ours. You heart touches mine. My prayers echo yours. He does incline His ear to us. He does!
    right?

  7. You are reaching for the only real hope there is. Our Savior died so you can fall at his feet with your sweet baby. He knows where you are and cries with you. So do I.

  8. thank you, friends. today was a much better day. R started off the morning screaming bloody murder and then went to school and had a “perfect day.” huh???? go figure. the Lord heard my cry. =)

    • He hears every one of your cries, and Rhema’s too. Keep speaking the word over your daughters! God is faithful, so very faithful. Remember, he has not given us a spirit of fear, but of POWER, and LOVE and A SOUND MIND. it’s all there…he promised!

Leave a Reply

