Gatherings

Oh yeah. The blog.

Step away for a bit and it’s a little hard to find the way back.

I got a break from it all! Flew to Kansas City to spend a girls weekend with dear friends I had not seen in years. Ten years ago we were young and kid-less, studying James, Philippians and “Bad Girls of the Bible” together, and forming life-giving, life-lasting friendships. So last weekend we escaped to a quirky little cottage to laugh, talk, relax, eat gourmet cupcakes, sleep (some of us!), watch chick flicks and pamper ourselves. It was a wonderful time away – the kind of time that lifts you and gives you what you need to keep going.

My mother-in-law came for a visit and took care of the little kids (Rhema and Hope) and the big kids (Brandon and me). My grandmothers died too young, and I never got a chance to know them. I’m so thankful for the time my girls have with their grandparents; their lives are rich and full because of Grandma and Nana.

Hope attends a Christian private school. Recently she informed me that she’s bored with her clothes. She goes two days a week. She’s in Pre-K. And already she’s got an issue with the dress code.

So to break up the monotony of her Pre-K existence Grandma made her a one-of-a-kind jumper…

with stars!

and a secret message on the inside hem!

When she’s having a tough day or just not feeling sure of herself, she can flip back the edge of her dress and know she’s not alone: Jesus loves her (and Grandma does, too!)

In other news, Brandon had surgery to remove a chunk of skin cancer from his neck. He’s pretty chopped up, and it’s kind of gross, and we’ve been letting the jokes fly (a little inappropriately).

Such a shame. He only missed Halloween by a couple weeks.  

Thanksgiving is at my house this year, and I’m doing the turkey for the first time! When Rhema was younger she was absolutely petrified of sticking her hand in a bag – a shopping bag, a brown paper bag, a Ziploc bag with her favorite pretzels – she absolutely would not do it. Scared to death. Now I can empathize with her because I’m soooo afraid to stick my hand inside that turkey and pull out the slimy neck bone and giblets – yuck! In my dreams I see my 16-pound decapitated raw turkey doing the jive in the kitchen sink with Brandon’s Frankenstein head going gobble gobble gobble and bobbling on top.

                      

13 thoughts on “Gatherings

  1. Haha! Don’t be scared of the turkey… it’s dead! If it grosses you out, stick on a food handling glove and grab those bits out, lol ! I’m sure it will turn out great when you cook it :).

    Don’t little girls grow up so fast …. mind you, Erik is only four, and has just started indicating to me what he very clearly does NOT want to wear!

    I do hope that Brandon’s skin thing is nothing serious.

  2. I am so glad you had a time away. That sounds wonderful!! I just did something similar with a friend and it was sooo refreshing.

    We are doing Thanksgiving for the first time, too. I also get all squeamish thinking of putting my hands in the turkey!

    Hope and pray all is well with Brandon…

  3. J-
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your thought and honesty and vulnernability that you share. I don’t
    Know if I have actually ever left you a reply or just thought about it after every entry! It literally makes me giggle outloud reading your words. And I love how you are able to describe an episode or action so perfectly. God has blessed you with such talent an I thank you for sharing it with us. You are incredible 🙂

  4. Ooo – my hair prickled when I thought of pulling out those slimy turkey guts!

    That adorable jumper needs to go into an Etsy shop – pronto! What a brilliant idea!

    So happy and thankful that you had a special weekend full of friendship, love and laughter.

    Wishing you a glorious Thanksgiving celebration!

  5. I am so thrilled you got away with your girlfriends! Can’t think of anyone who deserves a getaway more!

    The jumper.made,me.cry. Don’t know why. Maybe all the love stitched into it? It’s very special.

    Glad Brandon’s ok and you are back, I was getting worried! xo

  6. This is just a big paper bag filled with nothing but GOODIES!!!! LOVE!!!

    All of it.

    Perfect.

    (Except for B, please tell him we love him even if his face looks like that ;0)

    Blessings to you, Mahi – have a spectacular Thanksgiving.

    I am thankful for YOU.
    xo

  7. You are so funny! I’m so glad you got away for some much needed R&R.

    Grandparents rule! Ahem, so I am patting myself on the back. Happy Thanksgiving! gail

  8. Olathe is a suburb of KC. I’m sorry we didn’t get a chance to see you. That would have been a hoot! Glad you got away, Jeneil. Glad life offers you such moments.

    Tom

  9. Pingback: We thank you Lord « Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

