Voice memos

You dance over me
while I am unaware
You sing all around
But I never hear the sound
Lord I’m amazed by you
How you love me
~Desperation Band

.

We made an interesting discovery today…

Brandon: Rhema, where’s your iTouch?

Rhema throws her head back and laughs and laughs.

Brandon: Um, not funny.

He finds her iTouch nearby and realizes that he’s being recorded with an app called Voice Memos.

He comes to me and we scroll through nearly 50 recordings that Rhema has taken.

There are several of her making her sing-songy sounds.

There is a conversation between Hope and our wonderful babysitter, Laura.

There’s a recording of a voice mail of her cousins singing Happy Birthday.

There is a snippet of conversation between me and the ER doctor last month. (Which boggles my mind because I remember Rhema sitting on the bed playing with her iTouch, but had no idea she was recording me.)

There’s water running,  TV in the background, Hope jabbering, Rhema humming, multiple conversations at the same time.

Brandon and I smile, thoroughly intrigued as we listen, it’s like hearing the sounds of life and home on replay, but for the first time.

And then he tilts his head, furrows his brow,

“Hey! Did you just call me a jerk?”

“Huh? Wha-? No. Noooooo.”

We laugh. (I really didn’t call him a jerk. Really! Just ask Rhema.)

That girl.

So often she seems to be walking on the edge of the world. Silent except for her humming and shrieking. With us, but not. And all this time she’s been recording life around her, and we did not know.

I wonder how often she plays back the recordings? I wonder what she hears – these voice memos in her life? Does she hear love and joy in our family? Does she hear frustration or impatience when I say her name? Does she hear complaining and backbiting or does she hear us building one another up?

As I listened, I heard her. Her sounds that are ever present and make up the background music of our days. All too often I stop hearing it, but I was reminded again to listen for her sweet song over us.

A couple years ago I proudly wrote a blog called Her Language and recorded her. She sounds much the same today.

She really is remarkable.

13 thoughts on “Voice memos

  1. This is something Riley and Rhema have in common. Riley records tons of snippets of life and plays them back over and over. And over. And over. And over. LOL. It’s like she’s studying them. Voice memo is one of her very favorite things ever and brings her so much joy.

  2. It’s like a touchstone, perhaps, reminding her of her roots, her home. Sounds like something Nik would do…if I let him have something to record with. LOL!

  3. Love this! I don’t own and i-anything so I’m clueless, but is there a way you can take them off the itouch and put on a disc or something so you have them to treasure even if they end up deleted off of there?

  4. She truly is amazing and so beautiful. What a smart little girl. What a beautiful treasure and scarey realization at the same time. It makes you wonder what our reaction would be if God played back records of our words. A sobering thought. Thank you Neily for sharing. She is such a gem!

Leave a Reply

