Evolution of a kiss

Due to oral motor issues Rhema is still not able to blow out the candles on her birthday cake or blow bubbles, or pucker or purse her lips.

Thus, the Rhema-kiss has been a long time in the making and it is yet another celebrated gift.

Because somewhere along the way she got it that this a way we show affection. It wouldn’t be her first choice. She used to be as hard to hold on to as a wet bar of soap. She felt trapped and confined if we tried to hug her and squirmed away from touch and any kind of closeness.

A couple years ago she began pressing her face against mine for just a moment.

These days her kisses are very deliberate. She puts her lips on my cheek and kind of just hangs out there, taking in big gulps of air, inhaling and exhaling through her mouth.

Usually I can’t help but giggle. It’s just about the funniest, sweetest thing ever.

The other evening my mother came to visit us, and before she left she took Rhema’s hand and kissed it. In turn, my daughter took my mother’s hand and gave it her open-mouthed-hyperventilating kiss.

And we turned into a big pile chocolate mush on the floor.

It’s one of those things I thought I would miss out on because of autism and apraxia. It’s one of those things that’s turned out to be far better, more meaningful than I could have ever imagined.

That this dear child loves us. That she wants to show us. That she finds a way to show us. No words necessary. Just some slurp and heavy breathing.

I can’t believe I get to get a Rhema-kiss every day. She makes me feel like the most blessed mama.

23 thoughts on “Evolution of a kiss

  1. Sweet Jeneil-
    Thank you for sharing your incredible gifts of writing with all of us! I love hearing you describe about the progress and development of your family on the journey! I get so excited to read what hilarious, deep, meaningful way God is using both you and your children to grow you closer to Him. Thank you for your vulnerability and positive outlook! Y’all are quite the inspiration 🙂

  2. Aren’t these things the BEST???? A couple of months ago my (now) 4 year began blowing out candles. His technique is def not like the rest of us as it’s more of a hiss than a blow but it works and I love it. When it was his birthday in January, we re-lit the candle at least 2 dozen times so he could keep hissing it out. I just LOVE keeping up with your family through this blog.

  3. Oh yeah! That is tooo cute! And you’re so right about it having so much more meaning and being that much more special. Erik’s kisses are so similar… he opens his mouth, plonks it right on your lips and just hangs here for a minute. I just looooove it! Only once or twice he has managed to produce a real pucker up kind of kiss.

  4. Precious love moments… glad you have them. My 11 year old boy still gives me kisses; come to think of it, my 21 year old does as well. It’s a lovely thing to feel a kiss. I need to remember this.

    peace~elaine

  5. Pingback: Do this « Autism In a Word

  6. Pingback: Far-off one « Autism In a Word

  7. Pingback: Sweet cheek | Autism In a Word

Leave a Reply

