Now no condemnation

Rhema hides her face. A lot.

She does it when walking into a crowded or unfamiliar place. She does it at home. She does it when someone calls her name. She does it when there’s a sudden noise or a raised voice.

Sometimes I’m sure it’s her way of trying to shut out the world when she’s overwhelmed. Sometimes I think it’s just sweet-girl shyness. She hides her face behind her arm in moments of fear, sadness and happiness. It often takes a while — gentle, quiet coaxing to get her to drop her arm and show us her brilliant eyes.

Tonight at the dinner table, Rhema sat with us, her face hidden behind her arm. Brandon talked to her across the table. He said her name, told her he loved her, that her fresh-washed hair was beautiful.

“We cannot look too often upon that face which we love; we desire always to have our precious things in our sight.” ~Charles Spurgeon

I don’t know how much she understood, but she knew he was talking to her. Slowly, the best smile peeked out. Moments later she dropped her arms and allowed herself see all our love for her.

When it’s the shame of sin that prompts our face-hiding, it is always the Father who calls our name, sings love over us, and lifts our head. When we dare to open our eyes, we can hardly believe it — there’s only more grace, more amazing love.

“He is divine to me, if he be human to all the world beside. He has done that for me which none but a God could do. He has subdued my stubborn will, melted a heart of adamant, opened gates of brass, and snapped bars of iron. He hath turned for me my mourning into laughter, and my desolation into joy; …And he is full of grace. Ah! had he not been I should never have been saved. He drew me when I struggled to escape from his grace; and when at last I came all trembling like a condemned culprit to his mercy-seat he said, ‘Thy sins which are many are all forgiven thee: be of good cheer.‘” ~Charles Spurgeon

 

 

7 thoughts on “Now no condemnation

  1. When I think of our heavenly father, I sometimes feel such shame in His presence. Then I think of His Son and get a glimpse of how much He, the Father, loves me.

    Your daughter’s smile is priceless!

  2. Love this. Makes me think of Psalm 27:5 and the hymn “Hide Me”. I think your sweet girl understands this better than I do.

Leave a Reply

