Interceding

It’s after midnight and I’m listening for the rain on the window to tell me a story.

Then I hear a sound in the next room… the telltale humming. The humming that announces she’s awake and we could be up all night. The humming that sometimes precedes the screaming, jumping, laughing, crashing. The humming that means one of us will have to get up and take her to the bathroom.

I am only grateful for the humming tonight, an excuse for me to hold her, safe and so loved in this moment.

Tonight it’s sad. Her song with words I don’t know. Even as I kiss her soggy cheeks, her song is so deeply sad amidst the raindrops.

I listen and mourn with those who mourn. Oh Lord, how we mourn and pray.

All those mothers, all those fathers aching for their babies.

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.” ~Romans 8:26

8 thoughts on “Interceding

  1. Beautiful…praying and mourning as well…I too heard the rain the other night and thought the skies here were crying…that God Himself was mourning with all of us.

  2. One of my favorite verses. And then this morning I saw where Christ also was praying for the disciples (Luke22, John 17, Hebrews 7), and the thought that these two are interceding for us…well, it’s what I’m clinging to lately. Tears here lately, too. I’m joining Jesus and the Holy Spirit in interceding for you and your girl. So glad for the fellowship of the saints who walk the road with me.

  3. My heart has been aching. Unfortunately, I have no tears. I don’t know why but I can’t cry about anything! I would appreciate prayer for this because a cleansing cry is a good thing.

    I still pray for your healing, J. Hope all is well.

  4. my heart has been aching as well
    I have been avoiding the news but someone send me the news article of the autistic child that died and I have come undone
    That the parents are taking comfort in knowing that their child was not alone when they were killed
    It said ” Dylan Hockley, 6, was found wrapped in the arms of Ann Marie Murphy, 52, who pulled the boy close to her as she tried to shield him from the spray of bullets that killed them both.
    “We take great comfort in knowing that Dylan was not alone when he died,” his parents, Ian and Nicole Hockley, said Monday, according to the Connecticut Post.
    It’s a sad world

  5. my son (15 1/2) has been humming in bed since he was a toddler. i can always tell when he’s dropping off. sometimes it’s video game themes, one time “ode to joy”.

Leave a Reply

