A time to heal

I was impatient about my recovery just days after surgery. My mother made me a cup of hot tea. And I couldn’t remember the last time I’d sat and sipped tea as if the world could wait. My mother quoted parts of Ecclesiastes 3 to me: “To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die…A time to weep, a time to laugh; a time to mourn and a time to dance. And a time to heal.”

The words unlocked a well deep inside me. Permission. Permission to let the healing begin. Suddenly I was a small child running to Father God with my cut finger. And bruised heart, and broken body, and sin-sick soul. Ready and willing to be in His hands – for the work to be wholly done in me, no matter how painful the tearing before the sewing, no matter how long the treatment.

“He alone can heal, and He delights to do it.” ~Charles Spurgeon

Things I’ll cherish from these past weeks: treasured gifts, cards, visits, meals and surgery survival kits from friends (thank you, thank you, thank you), B refusing to leave my side in the hospital, my sisters praying every second, receiving help and letting others minister to me (so good), pulling back and taking rest, time to pray and read, heart-to-heart talks with the husband, heart-to-heart talks with God, sweet time with my mother, watching Mary Poppins with Hope and singing every word, forgiveness, news that the tumor was benign, Poppy surprising Hope at her winter concert, a fish for Christmas, Rhema’s body-shaking giggles, releasing people from the expectations I unfairly put on them, the sorrow of this December and the need for restoration so real to me this Christmas… and joy in my Savior come down into the hurt of this world, to be God with us, to love us, to mend us.

All of this, healing.

I pray it for you also in this new year.

“Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed; save me and I shall be saved…”
~Jer. 17:14

11 thoughts on “A time to heal

  1. This post really touched me. I especially liked the part about permission to let the healing begin. When I was in the hospital following my stroke, I experienced the impatience you spoke about. My wife spoke to me about being pateint, also, and I wisely listened to her. You are so right about permission. God wants to heal us but sometimes our biggest obstacle is ourselves. Once we submit and allow him to heal us, the healing will begin. Thank you so much for posting.this.I need a reminder every now and then.

  2. God’s timing is perfect too and He knew this was the best time for you to go through this. Praying for a complete healing and recovery! Happy New Year.

  3. I am touched. I rejoice with you that the tumor was benign and I rejoice with you that you were able to let go – even if you didn’t have a choice! Beauty from ashes.

  4. What a beautiful post! I’m so thankful the tumor was benign and that you have experienced so many wonderful things through this ordeal.

    I claimed that verse from Jeremiah several years ago and find myself praying it daily.

    Happy New Year and may God grant you and your family health,peace,prosperity and joy in 2013.

Leave a Reply

