Live show? Check.

IMG_0487

IMG_0489

Remember how she didn’t go?

Well, there was another Disney on Ice show. And this time dear friends and family went. And Hope went. And Brandon went. And I went. And Rhema went-est.

On the train into Boston she sat with her hands in her lap and stared out the window and bounced up and down in her seat and flashed a happy grin.

During the show she stared at the ceiling or covered her face, and we tried to get her to focus on the characters and the costumes and the lights (come on, joint attention, come on!) There were brief moments when I felt frustrated that she was “missing” the show.

And then I realized she wasn’t missing a thing. She was with us. Taking it in, as always, in her perfect Rhema way.

IMG_0486

She made it through the entire 2-hour show.

Days later, my heart is still soaring. I assumed she couldn’t handle it – the noise, the crowds, the waiting, the unfamiliar – and she blew my assumptions to bits. She was great, and I am so proud of her and so thankful for this family memory. We did it!

(Thank you, friends, for the gentle encouragement, for making me believe we could. I’m dangerous now, thinking just about anything is possible!)

IMG_0485

***

Anyone want a book? Two of my stories are being published in Chicken Soup for the Soul books. The first is Chicken Soup for the Soul: Parenthood and will be released on March 12. The second book is Chicken Soup for the Soul: Raising Kids on the Spectrum and will be released on April 2nd, Autism Awareness Day. (More details on this to come!) Both books can be pre-ordered at Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

I just finished reading the Parenthood collection and it’s a good one. So. If you’d like a free, advance copy of Chicken Soup for the Soul: Parenthood leave a comment and we’ll draw a name!

26 thoughts on “Live show? Check.

  1. working with children… my experience with students “on the spectrum”,.. I’ve had the pleasure to teach students that “seem to be unaware”… then at the time of “their” calling, they “outshine” those who are in “their” space of awareness; please know prayers are being lifted.

  2. What a blessing. Your realization about Rhema’s not missing anything because she was with her family really touched my heart. Sometimes that’s all children want, our presence. Thank you for reminding me of that. May you and your family continue to be blessed. As for the book, it sounds like such a blessing that I’ll wait and pay for it. It’s going to be worth it.

  3. Those photos made me cry. Rhema enjoying herself to her fullest self-ness. I’m so proud of her for doing this and so proud of you all for trying. You are just getting showered with blessings this year.

  4. Having a child on the spectrum, I know of our parental expectations. Looking forward to reading the books. This is a wonderful story. Thanks.

  5. That is so exciting! Having grown up with a younger brother with special needs, I remember being so excited when we did “family” things with the entire family and things actually went smoothly 😉 (please count me in to the drawing). PS: As a mom I am always so encouraged by your blog. Thanks!

  6. Awesome… and you will find it addictive. Soon, you will be out and about all over the place! Count me in for the draw, although I totally understand if you decide not do…. the postage will be a bit steep!! 🙂

  7. Hi Jeneil

    I am a carer (not in the parent sense) and I took the person who I am carer (with Intellectual Disablity) for to Mary Poppins and she has quite a lot of difficulty with shared attention and spent the frst half hiding on my arm and the second half looking up albeit nowhere near the stage. She has a unique way of communicating by a sound ( I won’t say what as it’s very unique) and when asked “Did you like Mary Poppins?” made the sound for “yeah/yes” I thought at first but you weren’t looking. Then I thought LFA you are wrong; being with someone who’s company you enjoy is what made it a fun day 🙂

Leave a Reply

