By faith parenting

IMG_0516 IMG_0576

“I gave Rhema some chapstick, and she didn’t eat it! She carefully swiped it across her lips and casually handed it to me like she’s been doing it all her life. I think that girl secretly enjoys seeing my jaw hit the floor.”

“Hope asked me today how it is possible that she looks like Mommy and Daddy when she came out of MOMMY’S belly.”

“Rhema’s tearing her sheets to shreds at night and eating the pieces. She’s destroyed two sets of sheets already… and working on the mattress cover. What do we do?”

“How can we motivate Hope to do her best? How do we nurture her fun, full, carefree spirit?”

*

When the husband and I finally get a chance to talk, the conversations largely center around our little girls and we can go on and on long into the night. There’s always something to laugh about, a story to tell of what Hope said that morning, what Rhema did that day. We have our frustrations and concerns, too. We wonder about the future. We shake our heads, try to figure it out, grad school didn’t have a class on this. Never could we have imagined this struggle, this joy, this all-consuming-ness, this parenting journey.

One night last year I had a nightmare about one of my girls. I was so upset and shaken by it that I got up and paced in the bathroom, I was afraid to go back to sleep. I told B I’d had a bad dream about one of the children. He didn’t need to know the details, and I couldn’t speak them anyway. He just cried. He understood. Then he got her from her room, still sleeping, put her in bed between us and we held her.

Love so much it hurts. I almost asked God why He made us love them so much.

That night I remembered a devotional I once read by Charles Spurgeon and I often think of it during our evening talks. Spurgeon was highlighting the story in Mark 9 of a desperate and despairing father who brings his son to Jesus’ disciples for healing. The disciples try, but they are unable to heal the boy. Jesus says, “Bring him unto me.”

Those four simple words have stayed with me — good instructions and great comfort to a mother’s heart. When they’re sick, when they’re well, when they’re young and old, graduating kindergarten or graduating high school, when they go out the door, when they come back in, when they sleep, when they rise, day after day, all of this life, I hear Him say, Bring them to me.

Even now, I do.

14 thoughts on “By faith parenting

  1. I needed to hear this today! I have children on all sides of extremes, boy and girls, 19 and 5 (and 17 and 10), NT and not so much. When hubby and I are stressed and tossed, this message will speak to me. “Bring them to me”. Some demons are too powerful for parents to cast out. Thank you. Praying for good news on the GI front.

  2. Oh, thank you for this…especially today, when we have a PPT to talk about Ethan and kindergarten next year. We have had so many similar conversations about our kiddos, too. This rings so true. Thank you!!

  3. As usual you have communicated absolute truth in a real and relatable manner. I am in awe of your abilities as a wife, mother, and asset to the community at large. I am touched by the relationships in your family, and encouraged by your faith. In my prayers today I will give special thanks to the Lord for you, in addtion to lifting you all up for continued strength and encouragement. Know that you move through this day with my love and prayers.

  4. You are simply amazing!
    I needed to read this today. I am failing at keeping my faith and my positivity. I don’t like saying that, but it’s true.
    I hope you have a beautiful and happy memorial day weekend.

  5. I’m in there, too. Feeling vulnerable about my child. Feeling scared. And all I can do when the fear overwhelms me is say “Thank you, God. Thank you for my child, for my husband, for my family. Thank you for this opportunity to raise this amazing child. Thank you for the journey.” It’s the only thing I can do. ((hugs)), beautiful mama.

  6. Thank you for this new thought! It reminds me of when I am completely overwhelmed with the possibilities of my children’s futures I think of how He loves them more than I do.

  7. Your ability to capture the moment with words is such an incredible gift from God. Thank you for sharing.
    And thank you Lord for Godly, wonderful husbands that make incredible fathers.
    Praying, praying….

  8. Pingback: On the sackcloth days |

Leave a Reply

