Photos and verses

“Funny, I’m sort of at peace. Not nervous or anything. Certainly MISS my wife and daughters terribly, but other than that I am good.”
~Text message from Brandon just before he boarded a flight to the Middle East

.

We have been so encouraged by your thoughts, prayers, words and friendships over the past few weeks. Thank you.

We did a photo shoot a couple weeks ago with my incredibly gifted friend Kerrie. It was the first time we’d ever really done family pictures outside before, and I had no idea how Rhema would do… but I knew if anyone could make it a success Kerrie could.

We went to a beautiful “secret garden” and just walked around. And Hope posed a lot. (Of course!) She loved every second of it. Rhema was so peaceful and cooperative. I was delighted. Kerrie really captured Rhema and Hope and their sister love so well. She made albums for us – one for me and the girls and one for Brandon to take with him – with spaces for us to write notes to each other. She gave us a precious, precious gift.

(I’ve received various Bible passages from friends and family in recent days and I’m clinging to each verse in this next year. They are listed below):

DSC_2000comp

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

DSC_2222comp

…Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. ~ 2 Cor. 12:9

DSC_2196comp

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.  We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” ~ 2 Cor. 4:7-9

DSC_2283comp

“As soon as I pray you answer me; you encourage me by giving me strength.” ~Psalms 138:3

DSC_1997comp

 “The Lord knows the days of the upright:

DSC_2051comp

and their inheritance shall be forever.” ~Psalms 37:18

DSC_2082comp

“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” ~Rom. 8:31

DSC_2297comp

“The Lord is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion…

DSC_2100comp

The Lord protects the unwary; when I was brought low, he saved me.” ~Psalms 116:5,6

DSC_2233comp

“My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty;

DSC_2209comp

I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me…

DSC_2262comp

But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother,

DSC_1977comp

…like a weaned child is my soul within me.

DSC_2157comp

…O Israel, put your hope in the Lord both now and forever more.” ~Psalms 131

DSC_2027comp

23 thoughts on “Photos and verses

  1. What a beautiful gift your friend gave to you, and to all of us lucky enough to see these precious photos. This great family love. Praying for Brandon’s safe return and for your strength in the year ahead.

    Love.

  2. It’s awesome that you both have these photos and written notes to each other. I love that picture of Hope adjusting Rhemas hair and that last one of the 4 of you … just beautiful.

  3. Beautiful, priceless, so encouraging to all. What a blessed family! What strength and beauty you all have inside and out. God continue to bless and keep you all! Much love to ya

  4. Thank you for posting those gorgeous pictures. You remain in my heart and in my prayers, especially for Brandon’s safe return and all each of you need while you are apart. The Lord has you in His hands, of that I am certain.

  5. I am wiping away the tears….the photos and the Bible passages…..I have no other words but beautiful…..thinking of you and praying for all of you.

  6. Once again, your post was meant for me today. The verses shared are timely and appreciated. The pictures are beautiful, and a reminder of God’s faithfulness. Thank you so much giving us a window into your life and your faith with this.

  7. Those photos are stunning! You guys are so beautiful! Rhema’s hair looks adorable! Hope’s smile…! I could just gush on. God protect you girls and Brandon through this deployment and bring you blessing. May the work of your hands, and Brandon’s be fruitful and blessed and may you all find favour and grace in the eyes of all who meet you. xx

  8. So beautiful!!!! God’s face shining upon you. Love pushing back the darkness. So proud of my Russells. Beautiful faith. Keep looking up. Love you Love you Love you.

  9. So beautiful. And I’m crying. Again. I am so encouraged by you and your story, and I love the girls in their matching yellow flowers and Hope’s pretty princess dress :). We are praying for you four. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

