An affirmative reply

It’s well past bedtime and Rhema is crying in her room.

I climb into her bed to offer comfort, but I just can’t reach her.

Then Hope is there climbing into bed, too.

Hope (sadly): Oh Rhema. Hug.

They wrap arms around each other.

Hope: Rhema, do I love you?

Rhema: Yeah, yeah.

Hope: Do you love me?

Rhema: Yeah, yeah.

Hope (explains to me): We’ve been practicing yes/no questions.

And now I’m the one in tears. I’ve never heard this exchange before. It’s a precious gift in the dark. A new way to communicate love.

Me: Rhema, do I love you?

Rhema: Yeah, yeah.

Me: Do you love me?

Rhema: Yeah, yeah.

15 thoughts on “An affirmative reply

  1. Oh, how my heart was breaking when I read that Rhema was crying. How my heart sings that Hope has been able to break through. Starting off this day with prayers for you and yours, J, my dear sister.

  2. I’ve been lurking for about two or three months. Not even sure how I found your blog. Your writing has touched me many times, but this time… I’m absolutely choked with tears. For happiness, for sadness, for longing, and wistfulness.

    How stunningly transcendent was this moment you just shared? There are no words.

  3. Pingback: N to the o |

Leave a Reply

