Tapping, worshipping, book giveaway-ing

We’ve made a cute little breakthrough on communication between Rhema and her dad.

When we Skype with him, I put the screen in front of her and he says “Hi Rhema!”

At first she doesn’t respond, won’t look up.

And then suddenly she taps his face once, square in the nose, hard on the screen.

Always makes me smile.

People will often ask how the girls are doing with Brandon being away.

I know what to say about Hope. But it’s hard to know what Rhema thinks, feels and understands about it. I know she misses him but it’s just not something she ever shows or expresses. When he returns they always pick up right where they left off as if no time had passed between them at all. I wonder at how her perception of time and space is different from mine.

Anyway, I love her “tap.” It’s her way, her acknowledgement, her “I see you”, “I hear you”, “I love you.”

 

I was cleaning photos off my phone and came across this reminder of the beauty of worship and the joy in surrender.

Brandon and Hope singing a favorite song together shortly before he deployed:

IMG_0803The sun comes up; it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing your song again
Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship his holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship your holy name

 

***A Book Giveaway***
Chicken Soup’s “Devotional Stories for Wives” is now in bookstores. I am happy to be a contributor to this book. I still have much to learn about how to be a good wife to my husband, and I am so thankful for God’s grace! Grace is a theme in the book. I’ve been involved in a few Chicken Soup releases this year, and this one is the best by far.

devotional_stories_for_wives

Leave a comment and we’ll draw a name.

15 thoughts on “Tapping, worshipping, book giveaway-ing

  1. I’d love to have the book, but really just wanted to tell you that “the tap” sounds so much like something Daniel would do. And, yes, it absolutely is her way of conveying so much. Love you, J. :~>

  2. I wonder if she’s wondering why daddy is smaller, flat and how’d he get into that box?? Love the nose tap….you find such joy in the simplest of things and I love your soul. Bless you!

  3. I love your blog….always so encouraging! I love how you remind me to keep life in perspective and enjoy the little moments with my little guys.

  4. I am commenting because I love your post, not because of the book! 🙂
    Don’t you just love how technology has made life so much easier for us all; and how wonderful it is for you and your kids to be able to see Brandon in person (even if it is on a screen!). Awesome, absolutely awesome.

  5. Pingback: I gotta tell this one |

Leave a Reply

