Great things

I was telling the girls about a passage I’d been studying with my Bible study group. It’s a spooky story. There was a man possessed and tormented by a “legion” of demons. He screamed a lot, cut himself with rocks, and lived in the graveyard.

“Ooooo,” said Hope.

When Jesus came to town, the man ran to him and fell on his knees. The demons didn’t want to be kicked out of the country so they begged Jesus to send them into two thousand pigs browsing nearby.

“Two thousand pigs!!”

So the demons went into the pigs and the pigs went crazy and jumped in the lake and drowned. The man was healed! And there he was sitting still with Jesus, fully clothed, talking and listening to Him. He asked if he could go with Jesus, but Jesus said no.

“Why did Jesus say no?”

He had other plans for him. He said, ‘Go home to your friends and tell them what great things the Lord has done for you, how He has had compassion on you.’ And that’s exactly what the man did.

“What great things has God done for you?” I asked Hope.

“Um, you go first.”

I wanted to say this:

He has done that for me which none but a God could do. He has subdued my stubborn will, melted a heart of adamant, opened gates of brass, and snapped bars of iron. He hath turned for me my mourning into laughter, and my desolation into joy; he hath led my captivity captive, and made my heart rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory… And he is full of grace. Ah! had he not been I should never have been saved. He drew me when I struggled to escape from his grace; and when at last I came all trembling like a condemned culprit to his mercy-seat he said, ‘Thy sins which are many are all forgiven thee: be of good cheer.’ And he is full of truth. True have his promises been, not one has failed. I bear witness that never servant had such a master as I have; never brother such a kinsman as he has been to me; never spouse such a husband as Christ has been to my soul; never sinner a better Saviour; never mourner a better comforter than Christ hath been to my spirit. ~Charles Spurgeon

Instead I said, “Just like that spooky man, God rescued me from the darkness and brought me into light. He showed me such great compassion and great salvation. Your turn.”

“Ok, ok,” she said. “Well! You know how you were mad this morning because we were running late? I was worried because I was kind of late to school. But well, my teacher couldn’t figure out who was late so she didn’t mark anyone tardy! How great is that?!”

(Pretty great.) 🙂

3 thoughts on “Great things

Leave a Reply

