Earning her keep

It’s Hope’s birthday week, and I want to wax eloquently about Hope. =) I’ve got some serious, mushy stuff to say, but first a word about sacrificial love:

So you know how she’s allergic to nuts, wheat, dairy, eggs and soy? She is not tempted in the least to eat foods containing allergens – she’s been sickened enough times to know it’s not worth it. It kind of stinks for her but it works out pretty well for me.

Picture us in the grocery store. I put her in the front of the cart, smooth her hair, squeeze her cheeks just before we stroll by the bakery section. The bakery lady says she’s so cute and offers her a delicious gluten-filled cookie. Hope knows to smile and keep her mouth shut while I graciously reach out and take the cookie. “Why thank you,” I say.

We wheel away to the frozen food aisle where I devour the cookie, careful not to let any crumbs fall on my baby.

Works like a charm every time.

When she goes on field trips to the apple orchard or the candy store? She knows to bring the apple cider donut and the chocolate home to Mama.

Now that she’s a big first grader she’s doing a reading program at school. You know the deal. Your child reads x number of books and she wins a certificate for a free pizza. The first month of the program was absolutely grueling. I had to constantly help her sound out the tough words. It seemed like all I heard was, “Mommy, what does o-n-o-m-a-t-o-p-o-e-i-a spell? And I had to sign off every time she read for 15 minutes or more. It was tough, but I kept my eye on the prize. Free pizza at the end of the month.

Finally the day arrived and I rushed home from work.

“So did you turn in your reading log today?”

“Yeah.”

“Did you get the certificate?”

“No. Since I’m allergic to pizza they gave me a pencil instead.”

“A pencil! A PEN? CIL???”

“Yeah.”

I was flabbergasted. I thought I had trained her better than this.

“But. But. HOPE! All my hard work?! I’ve been waiting all month for my pizza!!! Can you give the pencil back and tell them you want the pizza??” (I was kidding, but not really).

I had to endure another long month of sounding out words and being the walking dictionary. She read more than she needed to just for good measure.

And today. Finally today she presented my her prize.

“What did you say to your teacher when you turned in your reading log, Hope?”

“I said, ‘I don’t want a pencil this time. I want the pizza. My mom really, really, REALLY needs this pizza.’”

Sniff. That’s my girl.

“Good job, kid.”

Do I cross out her name and write mine in instead?

Do I cross out her name and write mine in instead??

14 thoughts on “Earning her keep

  1. haha! this was the best! I have a ton of book it, gift certificates if you’d like lol. I love pizza hut but we rarely make it there so they go to waste :p

  2. Hahaha I love it!

    On Halloween when H is rummaging thru the candy bowls for something he can eat, my husband always yells “just pick one! Mom trade you it for something you can eat!” 🙂
    Good job on the reading Hope and Happy Birthday week!

  3. HILARIOUS! I’m so jealous you get to eat the pizza. Me, I have to watch my kids eat theirs while I have pb and j. We do the Pizza Hut thing around here, too, and because Rebekah is too little to do the program, she doesn’t get a pizza while the older ones all did. Emma and Katie so sweeetly each gave her a piece of their pizza. Kids are amazing.

  4. That is awesome! I laughed out loud so hard because I am doing the SAME THING with Nylis! It is grueling, but he is doing so well and gets so excited about the pizza. The difference is I don’t get to eat it for him. Instead I have to “explain” to my food lovin’ Addi that Nylis has earned this pizza by reading. That was a face to see. Too funny! Love that Hope and my Nylis! They are going to make the most stunning bride and groom EVER!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

