At first sight

DSC_0220 b
“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

I need to be at a certain place at a certain time to give a presentation. So I prep the night before, practice my little speech, pack the school lunches and press the clothes. Wake up hours early, practice the speech again, get the girls cleaned, fed, dressed, out the door and to their respective schools with time to spare. I’m well on my way, but just as I arrive at the train station there’s an accident. The train service shuts down completely.

I resort to driving to the city, honking my horn in Boston traffic with the best of them. I make it, two hours late. But it’s over. Someone has taken my notes, given the speech in my place. And I’d made such a big deal of it in my mind.

It continues to be one of those days when, try as you might, it’s just not enough. For all the rushing you’re still two steps behind. For all your good intentions, you still fall short.

I drag myself home late. Meeting me at the door is dancing laughter, contagious joy, purity and all the goodness of childhood wrapped in the gift of Hope.

Here. Here is treasure.

The pressure and striving and stumbling melt away. The time spent chasing after the wind, forgotten. Only to be replaced by a burst of deep comfort, relief and gladness.

At first sight of her.

And I think, this is how it will be. Joy, unspeakable joy. And He will meet us with “healing in his wings”. Our lack and loss, the suffering and disability, the not-so-important things I’m holding, my guilt and my to-do list. All of this will fade away.

One great day. At first sight of Him.

6 thoughts on “At first sight

  1. Truly, so beautifully said. What a soul-warming reminder; even when we try our very best, we will always fall short. But God, in His great mercy, has reached down in love and saved our soul so that one day we can see Him face to face and all that unnecessary stuff will melt away. What a wonderful God we serve! Thank you for taking a completely crummy day and choosing not to grumble, but to give God such beautiful glory; so much wisdom comes forth from your love and surrender to Christ. Thank you, thank you, for sharing your gift.

Leave a Reply

