A rap to remember

I used to ask Hope how her day was or how her dinner tasted she would very enthusiastically spell her response: “G-O-D!” I’d laugh and tell her she forgot an O. But no matter how often I corrected her, she’d always forget the extra O. So it became a thing, her response now is always G-O-D.

I am reminded of how important it is to tell the story of God’s goodness to my children.

To anyone who will listen, really.

In my Bible class we’ve been studying the books of Joshua and Judges. It’s a hard journey, but there are miracles galore from the waters parting to time standing still to great battles won. Then, just a bit of time passes and, “…another generation grew up who did not acknowledge the Lord or remember the mighty things he had done…” (Judges 2:10)

Recently one of Rhema’s teacher wrote on the Facebook page that she is thankful to enjoy the gift of Rhema every day. You can imagine how it touched my heart. And I thought, were it not for autism, we would never have known the beautiful and creative teachers who love and give and teach and sacrifice day after day for her/us, and then say it’s their joy to do it. So good.

For me, I hope I will be found naming the good. Seeing it, digging for it, no matter.

Because these two little girls?

photo 3

There’s so much good to tell.

I don’t want them to forget. I don’t want to forget.

In Judges, the prophetess Deborah sings a victory song to remember. My girl Cha says I got skillz (haha), so I wrote a rap to remember. And it goes something like this.

Hey yo. It’s Jeneilly J
Got a lil’ song, got somethin’ to say

Had my fly guy, sweet babe of mine
It was goin’ great, yeah life was a shine
Suddenly the world lost focus
My precious girl got the diagnosis
Faith and dreams and hearts were broken
Trials and tears and words unspoken

The pain and sad, yo, I was feelin’ it
But hold up wait a minute
He be using that girl to teach my spirit
Chillin’ it, willin’ it, fillin’ it, heart-healin’ it.

And it was good,
spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O, no need to tell me
It was good, y’all, spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O, no need to tell me

Now check the second verse
about the bestest sister in the universe
She came named Hope with hope to disperse
Giving love and joy in continuous bursts

The pain and sad, yo, I had been feelin’ it
But hold up , wait a minute
He be using that girl to lift my spirit.
Chillin’ it, willin’ it, fillin’ it, heart-healin’ it.

And it was so good,
spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O, no need to tell me
It was good, y’all, spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O, no need to tell me

Last but not least lemme switch this dope beat
That fly guy and I? Nearly faced defeat
I served up straight hurt, ain’t no happy meals
Yeah sista girl, I’m just keepin it reals
When I couldn’t stand and I needed it most
Mercy poured out like a fire hose
Grace covered me from my head to my toes

Yeah Love, He put us back togetha
And now we down for whateva
Babe, I’m grateful fo’ foreva

And it’s good, y’all
spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O, no need to tell me
It’s so good y’all, spell it G-O-D, all G-O-D
Drop the second O,
are you feelin’ me?

~by MC Lil Jeneil Appeal

4 thoughts on “A rap to remember

Leave a Reply

