Hopeful enough

“It is for us to pray not for tasks equal to our powers, but for powers equal to our tasks, to go forward with a great desire forever beating at the door of our hearts as we travel toward our distant goal.” 
~Helen Keller

A video from 1930 of Anne Sullivan and Helen Keller demonstrating how Helen learned her first word has become a daily inspiration. Anne explains how a certain hand position helped Helen. Helen would put her thumb on Anne’s throat, her index finger on Anne’s lips and her 2nd finger on Anne’s nose. In so doing, Helen could feel the vibrations of spoken words.

I’ve watched it a hundred times and wiped a hundred tears and it never fails to inspire me to keep believing.

To have the courage to try.

To never give up.

To keep praying that God will show us creative ways to help Rhema speak, in whatever way she will.

Unexpectedly a slot opened up at Soma’s RPM camp in Austin, Texas. The opportunity for Soma to work with Rhema and for me to observe and learn from her is on the level of me being gifted a thousand cupcakes. A dream come true. (Smile).

But I did not think we could possibly go.

I laughed and said to Brandon: “I mean, of course we can’t go. That would be… like… crazy. We just went to an RPM camp in Green Bay a few months ago. And after our last experience, we’d be insane in the membrane to set foot near an airport ever again. And you can’t take the time off work. And work is super busy for me. And you know. Money doesn’t grow on trees-”

Brandon didn’t miss a beat. “I think, if you think Rhema needs this, then we should do it.”

I almost tripped myself running for my computer to book flights for the girls and me.

(I love my husband. I love that he never hesitates to sacrifice for his girls. Time and again he goes to great lengths to make sure Rhema has everything she could possibly need.)

Next week, Lord willing, we’ll make our way to Texas for more RPM training.

It won’t be easy – the travel, the expenses, the hard work and emotions, did I mention the travel?

But if it means she’s one step, one word, closer to finding her voice… We’re just that crazy enough, brave enough, hopeful enough.

And it’s so worth it.

Will you pray with us yet again?

15 thoughts on “Hopeful enough

  1. Oh, Jeneil — I’m so thrilled to hear this! I’ll be praying for a safe and easy trip, and for both you and Rhema as you are training.

  2. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts! Adding virtual fuel to your fire!!!! You can do this!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this video. I’ve never seen it, and it definitely brought tears. My son is 9 and has autism. The smile on Helen’s face after she speaks is priceless. I want that for all our children. I have been reading your blog for years but have never commented. I’m so thankful for you–for your perseverance, your authenticity and your hope. Praying for you as you give your all for Rhema.

  4. Gosh darn it, your posts always makes my eyes well -from love, from laughter, from hope, from wistfulness, just from…

    May the wind be on your back as you travel to and from. Only good things will come from this next adventure.

    Anything for our daughters, we always celebrate the smallest biggest victories.

Leave a Reply

