You go

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” ~Psalm 32:7

She hummed quietly as I spoke. No indication at all that she heard or understood. By now I have learned from her: when the tongue is bound and eyes don’t seem to see and ears don’t seem to hear, love translates.

And words meant for her were just as much for me. A challenge to leave a comfort zone, to boldly persevere and run after what I believe is true and right and good no matter the cost.

“Darling Daughter, I know that home is your safe place. And I know this world – with all its sights and sounds and demands and unpredictability – is so overwhelming for you, more than I can ever understand. I see your fear as you cover your face with your arm whenever we are in public. It’s hard for you to even walk on your own. I wish I could shield you from it all. I wish I could let you stay in your safe place.

But baby, we must go find the key. Your father and I would go to the ends of the earth for you to taste and hold every good thing. I believe there’s a chance for us, for you, to learn how to share what’s inside. Let’s reach for it!

A secret, little one. You have a hiding place wherever you go. In the airport, at school, on the playground, though a seizure, in your pain, in the unknown. He is sure and strong. He is comfort like your blue blanket, you can shelter under his wings. He is a communing hideaway: “O my dove, in the clefts of the rock, in the crannies of the cliff, let me see your face, let me hear your voice, for your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely.” (Song of Songs 2:14).

So open your heart, dear one, and let it be filled with songs of deliverance. Songs of how the weak are strong and the old become new. Songs of beauty in the broken. And Christ our joy and strength.

Open your mouth and whisper your sweet ‘yeah.’

Open your ears – every day and always, we are all silently-at-the-top-of-our-lungs cheering for you.

Open your hands, my girl, to all that is waiting for you. gogirl I promise you will never walk alone.”

6 thoughts on “You go

  1. I know that it’s God’s love of which you write, but it’s in her Mama’s I see it made manifest. She knows. I promise she knows.

    Praying hard this week and loving you all to the ends of the earth and back.

  2. Pingback: her voice | a diary of a mom

Leave a Reply

