In the waiting

The rugrats were finally in bed. The husband had been put away and could not make pig faces at me. My glass of milk was on the counter. My warm peanut butter chocolate chip cookies – my reward for the day – were fresh out of the oven. I couldn’t wait so I lifted a cookie off the sheet before it had time to cool and it crumbled in my hand. I gobbled it. Oh well.

“For ye have need of patience…” ~Heb 10:36

Aw, shoot.

I grew up memorizing Bible verses in the King James version and to this day they pop in my head at opportune and inopportune times. (My favorite verse is/was always “But Lord, he stinketh!” – John 11:39)

I was incorrect in saying that we would pick up where Soma left off. Ha. No. Rather we’re starting at the beginning. Right back at square one.

Every day we do our RPM sessions and it’s… not horrible. If it were horrible I’d be eating five cookies. I’m only eating four.

The incredible progress we saw with Rhema in Texas (and in Wisconsin months before) seems to have missed the plane home. But I’d been warned to expect this. That Rhema might be slow to open up. That this learning to spell is hard stuff. That it will take time and practice, practice, practice. That as my friend Lydia said, “Communication is an incredible gift, but it’s a massive change, and, well, some of us are a bit unsure about change, even the very best kind.”

But oh I’m hungry to have a taste of the communication Soma and Rhema shared. It seems like the waiting is harder now that we know what is truly possible. It’s like we’ve found the lock but now we must work on the combination.

Charles Spurgeon, my favorite, says that we can cheerfully wait when we are certain that we shall not wait in vain. So I’m trying to let go of my timetable and my worries and just enjoy the practice. The practice of RPM and working with my girl, and the practice of waiting.

There is a new closeness in our family now that Rhema has given us a glimpse of a part of her we’d never known before. When I used to talk to her I could only hope she understood my words. Now, I completely believe she does. Our conversations are sweeter because of it. And she seems delighted, she’s been wearing a beautiful, contagious soul-smile.

Yes, there can be joy in waiting.

A Rhema smile, 2012

A Rhema smile, 2012

6 thoughts on “In the waiting

  1. Praying there is joy in the journey, and not just the knowing that you are not waiting in vain. So thankful you’ve already been blessed with glimpses of what is within reach. I think you should share that cookie recipe, my mouth is watering.

  2. I think that’s why some have actually moved to Texas or have hired an expert certified in RPM to oversee the ongoing sessions. Like any intervention consistency from an expert is key until parents are proficient otherwise the child may respond differently. It is best if the 1:1 RPM is done by an expert and parents have ongoing training. I also think it eventually needs to be carried over throughout the entire day or confusion and frustration on the child’s part sets in particularly if other forms of communication are being taught at the same time. The parents I know have all left ABA and are homeschooling using RPM or have gotten their districts to hire experts to use this as the main form of education and communication for the child.

Leave a Reply

