Car talk

“A straight path never leads anywhere except to the objective.” ~Andre Gide

IMG_5215

I’ve been trying to help Rhema feel comfortable using her stencil board (and eventually keyboard) in other places besides the room in our basement where we do RPM lessons.

Yesterday she very much wanted to go for a drive so she went to the car and sat in her seat. I knew she was anxious to get going… but this was the perfect opportunity to use her stencils and find out where she wanted to go! We go for rides all the time, and I never know exactly where she wants to go.

So I slid into the driver’s seat, handed her a pencil and held up the board.

But it felt awkward in the cramped space. And when we study together I always sit to the right side of her.

So I jumped out and ran around to her side of the car. Opening her door, I crouched beside her and eagerly asked, “Rhema, what do you want?”

I waited.

She spelled, “I WANT YOU TO CLOSE THE DOOR.”

6 thoughts on “Car talk

Leave a Reply

