Speech to teachers

Not so much students need to have so much repetition. We choose to make decisions on how to teach students by strong belief in their potential. Notice only that they really want to succeed like everyone else.

Teachers should really try to show their students that they are happy to teach them really strong subjects.

I hope the teachers try to help their students feel like they might succeed. How else can they succeed?

If they do not have strong attention spans they will need to have someone help them stay on task. I hate to need this, but I do so much love to learn so I am thankful to go to school.

I love science and I hope to be a scientist one day. How I love science because it shows God’s glory in nature and in us.

Nothing helps me more than having people who try to believe in me. If they do not, I will know it, and I will fail. That is why I am thankful for Soma* and my mother. 32500 people heard my words because my mother did not give up.

Another thing that does not help is when someone does the same thing over and over again. It makes me so mad I cannot try to do better and I very much hate that I do not have better subjects. I mean science, math, history, reading good stories in school.

I think that teachers should try to make students meaningful work so that they have something interesting to study. Nothing makes me so frustrated as having the same thing taught over and over.

I had a good teacher who taught me to spell on a letterboard. She believed in me when no one else did. She taught me to believe in myself when I had given up hope. Her name is Soma and I will always be grateful to her for helping me. Time will tell how much she changed my life. Thank God for Soma.

My strong desire is to have a challenging education. I want to be a scientist. Not something I would have thought so much possible years ago but now I think it is possible. Strong minds should have strong educations. Not strong minds should have strong educations too. Good education is a goal for me.

It is so hard to see things on the ipad and keyboard. It hurts to look at the letters because I have strong eyes. My eyes see too much. It means I can see everything that makes up the letters like the minute details like the parts of the matter that make up the letters. Only I know how hard this is. I try to overcome the pain so I can spell. I think it helps to have different colors that are softer on the eyes. I have so much trouble with my motor skills. They make it hard to be still. To not have total control over your body is the worst obstacle ever. God is helping me get better at this. Nothing makes me happier than this to share my story.

Thank you for inviting me to your class. Only try to be patient with your students. They need your support so much. They will do well to study important things.

-Rhema

Updating the blog – Rhema had the opportunity to visit a college class of prospective teachers and share this speech. I, Jeneil, read her words. It was an incredible learning experience and we are grateful to Jess and the Professor H for inviting us!

rhema_jess

Rhema and Jess, October 2016

5 thoughts on “Speech to teachers

  1. “Another thing that does not help is when someone does the same thing over and over again. It makes me so mad I cannot try to do better and I very much hate that I do not have better subjects. I mean science, math, history, reading good stories in school.”

    Oh Rhema you couldn’t be MORE correct and so many understand your frustration. This is why many kids I know have left ABA schools and are learning solely through RPM because doing the same thing over and over is generally the definition of ABA. An appropriate and more challenging education is not happening in these schools and many feel that educators have low or no expectations for the students from a formal education standpoint. I know a boy who left his ABA center years ago and is now taking college courses and thriving. Keep advocating for science, math, history, reading and all the subjects we all know you deserve and I have no doubt you will be graduating from college and going on to do wonderful things in life!

  2. Dear Rhema,

    I was one of the students in the class at Lasell that you came to speak at. Your words and presence in my classroom has touched me dearly. I have learned from you to always be patient of students, allow students to have primary control of their educational needs, and challenge students to reach their personal and individualized goals. I love the way in which you speak, and feel very fortunate that I was able to have shared this experience with you. I am so grateful for all that I have learned from you, and hope that someday I will be able to print out this magnificent letter to teachers and feature it in my own classroom. Keep shining, and do not stop using your voice!
    Talk soon,
    XO
    -Di
    P.S. I look forward to following your journey as a scientist! 🙂

  3. Dear Rhema,

    I was one of the students in the class at Lasell that you came to speak at. Your words and presence in my classroom has touched me dearly. I have learned from you to always be patient of students, allow students to have primary control of their educational needs and challenge students to reach their personal and individualized goals. I love the way in which you speak and feel very fortunate that I was able to have shared this experience with you. I am so grateful for all that I have learned from you and hope that someday I will be able to print out this magnificent letter to teachers and feature it in my own classroom. Keep shining, and do not stop using your wonderful voice!
    Talk soon,
    XO
    -Di
    P.S. I look forward to following your journey as a scientist! 🙂

Leave a comment