Supermarket sweep

“Fret not thyself…” (Ps. 37:1)

Grocery shopping. For years we had a system that worked. Rhema would jump into the front of the shopping cart – never, ever the back – and buckle herself in. She would stay in the cart the whole time I shopped, perodically giving me a good kick in the legs as I pushed. I marveled at how content she was in the carriage. I didn’t mind that my eight year old needed to ride in the front seat – it was comforting and predictable for her. It allowed me to focus on the shopping and not worry about her. Of course as she’s grown older, it’s become increasingly harder for her to fit in the carriage.

And I’ve had a sense of impending doom.

Once we made a quick stop at Trader Joes and I refused to get a carriage. I insisted she hold my hand and walk with me. She was so disturbed by this that she kept trying to climb into other shoppers’ carts.

Several months ago I realized our shopping days were surely numbered. We were at Target – Hope and I inspecting holiday socks and Rhema sitting in the carriage. Suddenly Rhema scrambled out of the carriage and took off. She’d never done that before and I was dumbfounded for a moment. Hope started yelling and then we started running. She had a good lead on us and we chased her up and down aisles, between shoppers and through racks of clothes. We laugh about it now, imaging the scene. But at the time I was very afraid that she’d run out the automatic doors and into the street. We caught her. But we were not able to get her to return to the carriage, and we left the store without making a purchase.

So for months I’ve wondered how we’d handle shopping trips with Rhema.

This past weekend Brandon took her to the grocery store while Hope and I went to the craft store. He prevented her from squeezing herself into the carriage. She walked beside him, and he instructed her to get items off the shelf and put them in the cart. She loved it! She loved helping, loved having a purpose. Not once did she bolt or flop or climb into someone else’s cart or try to eat all the cheese in the store!

Sometimes I feel like there is soooo much to worry about when it comes to my girl and the future. Often I pray, “Lord, I have no idea what we’re going to do about…” And then an unexpected, amazing successful moment comes and wraps me up in a bear hug. And the thing I thought would be huge and difficult just isn’t.

I’m so thankful when that happens.

IMG_0082

Dear restless heart, be still; don’t fret and worry so;
God has a thousand ways His love and help to show;
Just trust, and trust, and trust, until His will you know.

Dear restless heart, be still, for peace is God’s own smile,
His love can every wrong and sorrow reconcile;
Just love, and love, and love, and calmly wait awhile.

Dear restless heart, be brave; don’t moan and sorrow so,
He hath a meaning kind in chilly winds that blow;
Just hope, and hope, and hope, until you braver grow.

Dear restless heart, repose upon His breast this hour,
His grace is strength and life, His love is bloom and flower;
Just rest, and rest, and rest, within His tender power.

Dear restless heart, be still! Don’t struggle to be free;
God’s life is in your life, from Him you may not flee;
Just pray, and pray, and pray, till you have faith to see.

~Edith Willis Linn

14 thoughts on “Supermarket sweep

  1. Oh yes! I love it when the things we think will be the hardest aren’t. It’s like you can breathe again, even if it’s just for that moment. ❤

  2. The way you describe Rhema, she reminds me so much of my Sophie. I read your blog (a lot!) and wonder if Sophie will be like Rhema when she is 8. I can totally picture her trying to climb into other people’s cart, lol. I don’t usually comment but my last post was about my fear of what will happen when Sophie grows out of the shopping cart. This post gave me wonderful hope that just maybe it will be ok.

  3. shopping! I loved this post! How wonderful for her, and for you! The Roc used to melt into the cart while shopping. He would never sit in the seat, only in the large part of the basket. Head down, hands over ears, and he would start getting wild if we were in the store too long. I worried about what I would do when I couldn’t lift him into the cart anymore… and then that time came and I got him to help me in the store. He likes to help check out now. He still hates to shop, but he loves to scan!

  4. So cute of her. Yes, I think it’s quite amazing to see your little girl turning into the big girl she is right now. I also love to do the cart thing until I was 7..:)

  5. So glad to hear! When I ventured back into grocery stores with Nigel I had him hold onto the side of the cart just like that too. It got to be such a habit that he didn’t stop doing it until about a year ago!

  6. Manna for the moment…. God gives grace only at the point when we need it, not before, not for the hypothetical situation, not for the what-its, only for the moment or for the day when we get there and we need it. Thankful for this.

Leave a comment