Where’s Jesus?

This one is for James.

 

It’s important to us that both Rhema and Hope learn about our faith in God.  Hope has a toddler Bible and Brandon enjoys teaching her Bible stories and verses. He has taught her to quote John 3:16, and we are often amazed at the things she retains and understands at 2 years old.

 

The other night I heard a bit of their conversation.

“Hope, where is Jesus?”

(I thought, That question has been asked and debated for thousands of years. Oh, to have the faith of a child.)

 

“He’s in heaven.”

(Do I have a future Biblical scholar on my hands??)

 

“And where else?”

“In our hearts.”

(Send this girl to seminary! Break out the Hebrew and Greek!)

 

“Hope, whose heart is He in?”

“He’s in Daddy’s heart…

(Oh, bless this child! I hear the brush of angel’s wings.)

….And Mommy’s heart

(Out of the mouth of babes, I tell you.)

And Dora’s heart

(vinyl scratch)

And Boots the monkeyAnd…”

dora

 

Hhhhmmmm.

 

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

Want Him in your heart?

11 thoughts on “Where’s Jesus?

  1. How sweet 🙂 What a great start at age 2….. OR is it that she just wants all those who SHE loves to have Him in their hearts????

    We get the list of ‘names’ that we know at prayertime 🙂

    Which children’s bible do you have? I have a hard time getting him the ones that are SO watered down that they actually change the story…. it’s hard finding the right one.

  2. ah, she’s discovered the church of our lady the explorer.

    hebrew and greek or coloquial mexican spanish? tough call.

  3. ALBJ2YO, We are currently using The Toddler’s Bible by V. Gilbert Beers. I’ve heard good things about The Beginner’s Bible (Kelly Pulley) and the Children’s Everyday Bible (Hastings).

  4. Oh how PRECIOUS!!! when i go to bible study every wednesday, my 3 year old always asks me after i pick her up from the little nursery there “So, Mom, did you see Jesus today upstairs?”

  5. That is soooo sweet! My twins are recently starting to “get” the concept of heaven. They used to get mad at me when I told them Jesus was in heaven. (No, mama, where IS He?) I finally had to make up a place to tell them (it had to be a place they could see on a globe), far enough away that they wouldn’t start asking to go visit (since we’d have had a hard time accommodating THAT request).

Leave a comment