A Blessing on the Door

Thank you. Thank you for all of the well wishes and prayers after my last post. It meant more to us than you can know. Somebody must have really prayed because Rhema has been able to sleep for the past few nights! We finished the EEG, she went back to school yesterday and we are waiting to discuss the results with her doctor…

A couple years ago I began writing out Scripture passages and posting them on Rhema’s bedroom door.  There was the verse about her name, and passages about Jesus healing a mute boy and another who seemed to suffer from seizures.

At that time, Brandon and I were going through a grieving process of sorts.  Our bright-eyed little girl who used to laugh and clap and say “Hi” on the phone was now distant, unreachable and painfully silent. We felt like we had somehow lost her. 

I didn’t know what Brandon thought about the verses I put up on Rhema’s door.  Maybe he thought I was losing it?

And then one day I noticed a new note had been placed at the very top of her door:

 father_blessing 

A Blessing

from your father and your Father

The Lord has plans for you, Rhema. You will one day call upon the LORD, He will hear you, and He will be able to listen to your voice as you seek Him.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you…”   Jer. 29:11-14

 

When she comes in, the blessing is there.

When she goes out, the blessing is there.

(In Old Testament times, fathers would often say a blessing over their children, and this was an important and valuable tradition that greatly influenced the life of the child.) 

My children are blessed with a father who loves to bless them.

He teaches them. 

He affirms them.

He champions them. 

He upholds them. 

He loves them so well, it shows.

dad_hope

Daddy and Hope

Your girls (all 3 of us) are grateful for your love – it is the life force of our family.  Happy Father’s Day!

18 thoughts on “A Blessing on the Door

  1. Amen! Go Brandon! God is the healer and we have authority in Christ to do even greater miracles than He did. Thanks for reminding me–with each post–of that power in His words spoken over, posted over, and repeated over and over in slow but certain victory. Praise God for peaceful slumber.

  2. What a wonderful Father! What a wonderful father!

    Reading this post made me think of the following passage from Deuteronomy 11:

    18 Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 20 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates, 21 so that your days and the days of your children may be many in the land that the LORD swore to give your forefathers, as many as the days that the heavens are above the earth.

    and from Deuteronomy 6:

    5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

    Will continue to pray for peaceful sleep for Rhema and your family!

  3. Blessings for Father’s Day and every day! What a beautiful tribute.

    And so good to hear that Rhema (and all of you) have been blessed with sleep these past few nights!

  4. damn, it’s back to reading and crying.

    damn, damn, damn.

    he is an incredible man. there is such comfort in his quiet strength and deep faith.

    you and those beautiful girls deserve no less.

  5. happy fathers day to a very awesome dad! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your life in this blog. it touches me more than you could ever realize, and inspires me deeply.

  6. There is something so incredibly powerful about the blessing of a father! When my own Dad was down to his last month or so on this earth we sat talking and he asked me if there was anything between us that needed to be cleared up – any time that he had unknowingly hurt or wronged me; any questions that had remained unanswered in my mind. There was nothing. We had a wonderful relationship filled with love and admiration that flowed generously both ways. But I asked him if he would give us (his children) a blessing. He told me he was going to have to think about it awhile.

    A few weeks later I received a framed blessing from my father. It is precious to me. Words of blessing spoken/printed over me & my family. It hangs on the wall in my Littlest One’s room. Although my Dad did not live to see the blessing of this child; I know he is included in the blessing. I often stop and read it.

    It grounds me. It affirms me. It reminds me of my father’s love which in turn reminds me of my Father’s love…it is powerful in my life and in the life of my family.

    Brandon is a wise father to add blessing to his children. His generous words of blessing will not be lost on his children even if they are unable to understand the words themselves; the Spiritual and emotional implications will be powerful within their lives.

    You’ve got a good man Jeneil! (not that you needed me to tell you!)

    May you have a blessed Father’s Day!

  7. Happy Father’s Day to Brandon! What an amazing person he is. It warms my heart to read about him.

    And I am so glad to hear that Rhema – and you! – have been able to sleep. That is wonderful news!

  8. Beth Moore talks a lot about “praying God’s Word.” You’ve exceeded that friend. You’re living it!

    Praying for many more sleep filled, restful nights and days in the nights and days to come. Again, you are my hero.

    I feel confident that I could learn a great many things from your walk of faith. I’m learning a few even now through your words.

    peace~elaine

  9. Pingback: These Words… « Autism In a Word

  10. Pingback: Including a Child with Autism in the Children’s Ministry Bible Presentation « The Inclusive Church

  11. Pingback: Including a Child with Autism in the Children’s Ministry Bible Presentation – What Is Autism In Children?

Leave a comment