Her Cup Runneth Over

If you read this, Mom, sorry for the un-ladylikeness of this post.

 

Rhema has this thing that she does with an open cup of juice or milk. If she’s really thirsty, she’ll carefully take a few sips. And then all of a sudden, she’ll bolt from the table, run for the bathroom as if life depended on it, and dump the contents of her cup into the toilet bowl. Then she’ll calmly return to the table.

It was so insanely busy this past weekend that I couldn’t find time to use the bathroom. (Been there?) Rhema seems to require more than constant supervision lately, and I thought it would be risky to stop and “go potty.” So I just opted to hold it for as long as I could.

By late afternoon, my bladder was ready to betray me. The girls were at the table eating a snack and seemed content.

Ahhh, my chance?!

I ran to the bathroom… and… how do you spell r-e-l-i-e-f?
I realized that I hadn’t sat down all day. I sighed, wishing I could hide in there forever. I lingered, enjoying a moment to myself…

You know what happens next.

The door busts open, scaring me half to death.

Before I can yell or jump, a full cup of cold ricemilk is dumped in my bare lap. My black shirt is splattered with milky drops.

I scream.

Rhema is startled. She had expected an empty toilet. This was not part of the plan.

We stare at each other for a moment, and then she sprints back into the kitchen, empty cup in hand.

29 thoughts on “Her Cup Runneth Over

  1. Snorting. Sorry, but this is really funny. And one of the first times I’m here without crying!

    Xoxo

    now when can we come over so that you can actually go pee for heaven’s sake?

  2. My husband calls me “camel bladder” for a reason. The only thing we can’t figure out is why the ability completely disappears once I’m in a car.

    I hope you’re getting some rest. Back to school yet?

    love.

  3. I call it a PV (Potty Vacation). Everyday I wish I could Vulcan mind melt ( Star trek lingo) with my son so I would know why he does, what he does.

  4. so many things are universal…..that uninterrupted time in the bathroom is sacred to all us moms! what i love best about getting away to a hotel is knowing the door will stay shut….

  5. Giggle… snort… bwAAHahahahahaha!

    I suppose I should be glad that Joy still buckles herself into her booster chair (and hasn’t figured out the UNbuckle yet…)

    Thank you for the laugh!

  6. oh, sometimes you’ve just GOT to laugh, even about the things that the moms of “typicals” would just find bizarre! happens to me all the time! well, not getting a drink dumped on me while sitting on the john, but other stories of hilarity.
    for instance, daniel has a thing about movement. he is fascinated by how things drop, bubble, steam, wiggle, bounce, etc., etc. We recently went through a phase of wanting to reach out and touch someone … very large (i.e. obese) someones … and giggle the fat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The first time it happened (in Wal-mart!), I knew exactly what it was all about and stopped almost instantly. And I went on immediate super watch. Saw him thinking about it a few times at the city pool!!!!! I think I’ve have gotten the “keep your hands to yourself” message across, but wouldn’t put much money on it!
    You just gotta lauch!

  7. Thanks for sharing. This is great! And reminds us of the good things in life. Last week I went to brush Jonathan’s hair. He screamed because I surprised him. I screamed in excitement because I got it brushed before he could run. My husband screamed because he didn’t know what was going on and he walked in the room as we were screaming. My two “typical” children just laughed at all of us.

  8. A bare lapful of COLD ricemilk?!!

    Ha!!

    I think this may be the first time you don’t get a “been there”… this one’s all you!

  9. R-e-l-i-e-f AND a milk bath! Double bonus!! 😉

    I’m taking a break from blogging for a bit; but PLEASE feel free to e-mail me! I will continue to pop in here and there on your blog. I will continue to be praying for you daily!

    Blessings and Hugs!

  10. That is so, so funny! LOL. Of course, I’m going to have to share this somehow….thinking….hmmm…..

    So, does she still run in there? Or did you scare that fun little habit out of her?

  11. Oh no… I’m so sorry, but I had to laugh too, especially where you both just stop and look at each other, probably thinking “what just happened?!”

    Maybe next time room temperature drinks are in order if you’ll be needing to use the restroom in the near future ;).

  12. Darlin’, that is TOO funny!! And, boy, do I know what you mean about bathroom breaks! Holding it becomes a way of life. The fact that we do all we do AND don’t even get a chance to go to the bathroom is TRULY amazing! And when we do get a chance to go and go BY OURSELVES, we consider that a true luxury! Forget pedis, we’re waiting for that bathroom break!
    xo

  13. Pingback: The Toilet Runneth Over « Autism In a Word

  14. Pingback: I can « Autism In a Word

Leave a comment