With her mouth

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever.” (Is. 40:8)

.

I still say her verse to every night as I put her to bed.

I still pause at the end of each sentence, waiting, hoping she’ll whisper the Word. Like she once did.

She no longer says the words, but I am certain now that she still knows. This Word is in her heart.

(She gives me pause. I can say all the right things, the holy talk I’ve known since I was young. But is it engraved in my heart? Do I know it, believe it in the deepest places?)

One day she’ll speak them again.

 .

As I’ve filled out oodles of paperwork for respite care, and completed phone interviews and home visits, a common question has been “Is there a history of seizures?”. Followed by “What exactly is Landau Kleffner syndrome?” I’ve given the textbook answer: a rare seizure disorder that affects the parts of the brain that control comprehension and speech; sleep often activates these epilepsy waves in children with LKS.

And each time I explain it I can picture an image of the brain, the highlighted areas – the Broca’s and Wernicke’s areas – the centers for understanding and language production. I envision the continuous electrical storm right there, in her head, how it deafens, interrupts, scatters, silences words.

Then I am amazed at God, amazed that this ever happened.

We only speak because He gives us voice.

Moses said to the LORD, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent… I am slow of speech and tongue.” The LORD said to him, “Who gave man his mouth?… Is it not I, the LORD? Now go; I will be with your mouth and will teach you what to say.” Exodus 4:10-12

Oh, how we have seen Him ‘with her mouth.’

 .

I posted the video clip below a year and a half ago, and I’ve linked to it several times.

You might have seen it, heard it.

Here I am posting it again just to remember that anything is possible.

 

“The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart, that is, the word of faith we are proclaiming: That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Rom. 10:8,9)

9 thoughts on “With her mouth

  1. Oh our kiddos. Yes, the words are there. Just out of her grasp. But she will find them again. That, I know in my heart. As for LKS, yes, I find it humorous actually when doctors look me like, “Whaaaaaaaa”. Not that they should know everything! LOL.

  2. I love that verse. It just about sums up everything about who we are and who He is. I continue to pray that Jesus will calm the storm in sweet Rhema. xo

  3. His Word is forever in Rhema’s heart! What a blessing this is to me today. I hope my Isabella, who is totally verbal, will have as much comprehension as Rhema does. I pray for it all the time. gail

  4. I’ve just discovered your blog and I watched this video. It made me cry. My son has autism, will be four in a couple of months, and has never spoken a word. My verse over him every night is this one: 2 Tim. 1:7 For God has not given to us the spirit of fear, but of power, and of love and of a sound mind. I usually abbreviate it to simply ‘power, love and a sound mind in Jesus name.’ He will not go to sleep until I have laid hands on him and spoken it over him. I thank you for this post.

Leave a comment