“all I see”

IMG_6872b

“If I’m nervous to play the song in front of my friends in music class how will I ever play it in the concert?” Hope wailed as she got ready for school the other day.

I saw the anxiety in her face and sensed a teachable moment. Eager to say something more than the usual stuff that comes out of my mouth on a daily basis (“Sit down”, “Hurry up”, and “Go potty”, etc.), I asked her to tell me about the song she was playing.

Be thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart
Naught be all else to me, save that thou art
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light

“It’s supposed to mean that Jesus is all I see. When I’m happy and when I’m sad.”

“When are you sad?” She’s such a joy-filled child I really wanted to learn more about what makes her sad.

She said simply, “Like when Daddy is away. And when Rhema is having a hard time.”

“I don’t know what that’s like, Hope. When I was a kid I never had to be away from my dad for such long periods of time. And I don’t know what it’s like to love a sister with lots of special needs. But I’m so thankful you know where to look.”

She nodded and was ready to twirl away but I held on.

“So. Try not to worry about all of the people. Imagine you have an audience of One. Play your song. Live your life. For Him, babe. Only Him. I’ll try to do that, too.”

Our prayer… and our interpretation of the first verse of a hymn that originates in the 6th century and was selected by Hope’s piano teacher for her to learn:

Lord of my heart, I want you to be the only thing I see. I want to make knowing you, honoring you the most important goal. My mind is filled with many distractions, cares, and things I don’t understand. But You are my best thought day and night. No matter where I am or what I’m doing, Your presence is the light in my life. Thank you.

.

*We think Ginny Owens (who is blind) sings Be Thou My Vision beautifully. Click ->here<- for a listen.

**Hope is playing Be Thou My Vision in her school concert tonight. 🙂

7 thoughts on ““all I see”

  1. Beautiful encouragement for Hope and beautiful prayer – just what I need to pray every day too! Thanks for sharing your life and faith!

Leave a comment